§ 416. Additional definitions
For the purposes of this subchapter—
(a) Spouse; surviving spouse
(1) The term ‘‘spouse’’ means a wife as defined
in subsection (b) or a husband as defined in sub-
section (f).
(2) The term ‘‘surviving spouse’’ means a
widow as defined in subsection (c) or a widower
as defined in subsection (g).
(b) Wife
The term ‘‘wife’’ means the wife of an indi-
vidual, but only if she (1) is the mother of his
son or daughter, (2) was married to him for a pe-
riod of not less than one year immediately pre-
Page 2022
TITLE 42—THE PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE
§ 416
ceding the day on which her application is filed,
or (3) in the month prior to the month of her
marriage to him (A) was entitled to, or on appli-
cation therefor and attainment of age 62 in such
prior month would have been entitled to, bene-
fits under subsection (b), (e), or (h) of section 402
of this title, (B) had attained age eighteen and
was entitled to, or on application therefor would
have been entitled to, benefits under subsection
(d) of such section (subject, however, to section
402(s) of this title), or (C) was entitled to, or
upon application therefor and attainment of the
required age (if any) would have been entitled
to, a widow’s, child’s (after attainment of age
18), or parent’s insurance annuity under section
231a of title 45. For purposes of clause (2), a wife
shall be deemed to have been married to an indi-
vidual for a period of one year throughout the
month in which occurs the first anniversary of
her marriage to such individual. For purposes of
subparagraph (C) of section 402(b)(1) of this title,
a divorced wife shall be deemed not to be mar-
ried throughout the month in which she be-
comes divorced.
(c) Widow
(1) The term ‘‘widow’’ (except when
File SHA-256: 022ff78c8674993ad13ca5bb8396f6b5de1a5c9e9eb5286ea7c472bb9ab78bb3. The original may include catalog metadata, neighboring provisions, or embedded records outside this collection's scope. This page displays the selected federal record. Historical editions and unverified snapshots are not a statement of current law.
Authority boundary: historical or unconfirmed source not current law verified.
Stable record: federal_law:legal_authorities:uscode2024_e04e702837ef1cb2985478f4 Source file: Laws/federal/codes/united-states-code-2024/title-42/section-416-additional-definitions--5aeaf9b398.md Pages: Not recorded – Not recorded Passage SHA-256: f177865bedcb172a9f388d26fbe26a20a1e764f270f77a6f9aa298b99d2b698b Retained source evidence SHA-256: 022ff78c8674993ad13ca5bb8396f6b5de1a5c9e9eb5286ea7c472bb9ab78bb3
Page 2021
TITLE 42—THE PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE
§ 416
cial Security Act [42 U.S.C. 402(j)(1)]) entitled to old-
age insurance benefits in 1952 and with respect to whom
not less than six of the quarters elapsing after 1950 and
prior to the quarter following the quarter in which he
died or became entitled to old-age insurance benefits,
whichever first occurred, are quarters of coverage, his
wage closing date shall be the first day of such quarter
of death or entitlement instead of the day specified in
section 215(b)(3) of such Act [42 U.S.C. 415(b)(3)], but
only if it would result in a higher primary insurance
amount for such individual. The terms used in this
paragraph shall have the same meaning as when used in
title II of the Social Security Act [42 U.S.C. 401 et
seq.].’’
COMPUTATION OF INCREASED BENEFITS TO INDIVIDUALS
ENTITLED THERETO FOR AUGUST 1952
Act July 18, 1952, ch. 945, § 6(e), 66 Stat. 777, provided
that: ‘‘In case the benefit of any individual for any
month after August 1952 is computed under section
2(c)(2)(A) of this Act [set out as a note under this sec-
tion] through use of a benefit (after the application of
sections 203 and 215(g) of the Social Security Act [42
U.S.C. 403, 415(g)] as in effect prior to the enactment of
this Act [July 18, 1952]) for August 1952 which could
have been derived from either of two (and not more
than two) primary insurance amounts, and such pri-
mary insurance amounts differ from each other by not
more than $0.10, then the benefit of such individual for
such month of August 1952 shall, for the purposes of the
last sentence of such section 2(c)(2)(A) [set out as a
note under this section], be deemed to have been de-
rived from the larger of such two primary insurance
amounts.’’
COMPUTATION
OF
INCREASED
BENEFITS
FOR
DEPEND-
ENTS AND SURVIVORS ON BENEFIT ROLLS FOR AUGUST
1952
Act July 18, 1952, ch. 945, § 2(c)(2), 66 Stat. 768, as
amended by act Sept. 1, 1954, § 102(g), eff. Sept. 1, 1954,
provided that:
‘‘(A) In the case of any individual who is (without the
application of section 202(j)(1) of the Social Security
Act) [42 U.S.C. 402(j)(1)] entitled to a monthly benefit
under subsection (b), (c), (d), (e), (f), (g), or (h) of such
section 202 for August 1952, whose benefit for such
month is computed through use of a primary insurance
amount determined under paragraph (1) or (2) of section
215(c) of such Act [42 U.S.C. 415(c)], and who is entitled
to such benefit for any succeeding month on the basis
of the same wages and self-employment income, the
amendments made by this section shall not (subject to
the provisions of subparagraph (B) of this paragraph)
apply for purposes of computing the amount of such
benefit for such succeeding month. The amount of such
benefit for such succeeding month shall instead be
equal to the larger of (i) 1121⁄2 per centum of the
amount of such benefit (after the application of sec-
tions 203(a) and 215(g) of the Social Security Act [42
U.S.C. 403(a), 415(g)] as in effect prior to the enactment
of this Act [July 18, 1952]) for August 1952, increased, if
it is not a multiple of $0.10, to the next higher multiple
of $0.10, or (ii) the amount of such benefit (after the ap-
plication of sections 203(a) and 215(g) of the Social Se-
curity Act as in effect prior to the enactment of this
Act [July 18, 1952]) for August 1952, increased by an
amount equal to the product obtained by multiplying
$5 by the fraction applied to the primary insurance
amount which was used in determining such benefit,
and further increased, if such product is not a multiple
of $0.10, to the next higher multiple of $0.10. The provi-
sions of section 203(a) of the Social Security Act, as
amended by this section (and, for purposes of such sec-
tion 203(a), the provisions of section 215(c)(4) of the So-
cial Security Act, as amended by this section), shall
apply to such benefit as computed under the preceding
sentence of this subparagraph, and the resulting
amount, if not a multiple of $0.10, shall be increased to
the next higher multiple of $0.10.
‘‘(B) The provisions of subparagraph (A) shall cease to
apply to the benefit of any individual under title II of
the Social Security Act [42 U.S.C. 401 et seq.] for any
month after August 1954.’’
DETERMINATION OF PRIMARY INSURANCE AMOUNT OF
INDIVIDUALS WHO DIED AFTER 1939 AND PRIOR TO 1951
Pub. L. 86–778, title II, § 204(b), Sept. 13, 1960, 74 Stat.
948, provided that: ‘‘The primary insurance amount (for
purposes of title II of the Social Security Act [42 U.S.C.
401 et seq.]) of any individual who died after 1939 and
prior to 1951 shall be determined as provided in section
215(a)(2) of such Act [42 U.S.C. 415(a)(2)].’’
BENEFITS IN CERTAIN CASES OF DEATHS BEFORE
SEPTEMBER 1950
Act Sept. 1, 1954, ch. 1206, title I, § 109, 68 Stat. 1084,
as amended by Pub. L. 86–778, title II, § 204(c), Sept. 13,
1960, 74 Stat. 948, provided that in the case of an indi-
vidual who died prior to Sept. 1, 1950, and was not a
fully insured individual when he died and who had at
least six quarters of coverage under this subchapter,
such individual was generally to be deemed to have
died fully insured, his primary insurance amount was
to be deemed to be computed under subsec. (a)(2) of this
section, the proof of support requirement in section
402(h) of this title was not to be applicable where such
proof was filed before Sept. 1956, and that the provi-
sions of this section were to apply to monthly benefits
under section 402 of this title for months after Aug. 1954
and in or prior to Sept. 1960.
COMPUTATION OF PRIMARY INSURANCE AMOUNT OF
INDIVIDUALS WHO DIED PRIOR TO 1940
Pub. L. 86–778, title II, § 205(c), Sept. 13, 1960, 74 Stat.
949, provided that: ‘‘The primary insurance amount (for
purposes of title II of the Social Security Act [42 U.S.C.
401 et seq.]) of any individual who died prior to 1940,
and who had not less than six quarters of coverage (as
defined in section 213 of such Act [42 U.S.C. 413]), shall
be computed under section 215(a)(2) of such Act [42
U.S.C. 415(a)(2)].’’
[Section 205(c) of Pub. L. 86–778 as applicable only in
the case of monthly benefits under this subchapter for
months after September 1960, on the basis of applica-
tions filed in or after such month, see section 205(d) of
Pub. L. 86–778, set out as an Effective Date of 1960
Amendment note under section 402 of this title.]
Executive Documents
TRANSFER OF FUNCTIONS
Functions of Public Health Service, Surgeon General
of Public Health Service, and all other officers and em-
ployees of Public Health Service, and functions of all
agencies of or in Public Health Service transferred to
Secretary of Health, Education, and Welfare by Reorg.
Plan No. 3 of 1966, 31 F.R. 8855, 80 Stat. 1610, effective
June 25, 1966, set out in the Appendix to Title 5, Gov-
ernment Organization and Employees.
§ 416. Additional definitions
For the purposes of this subchapter—
(a) Spouse; surviving spouse
(1) The term ‘‘spouse’’ means a wife as defined
in subsection (b) or a husband as defined in sub-
section (f).
(2) The term ‘‘surviving spouse’’ means a
widow as defined in subsection (c) or a widower
as defined in subsection (g).
(b) Wife
The term ‘‘wife’’ means the wife of an indi-
vidual, but only if she (1) is the mother of his
son or daughter, (2) was married to him for a pe-
riod of not less than one year immediately pre-
Page 2022
TITLE 42—THE PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE
§ 416
ceding the day on which her application is filed,
or (3) in the month prior to the month of her
marriage to him (A) was entitled to, or on appli-
cation therefor and attainment of age 62 in such
prior month would have been entitled to, bene-
fits under subsection (b), (e), or (h) of section 402
of this title, (B) had attained age eighteen and
was entitled to, or on application therefor would
have been entitled to, benefits under subsection
(d) of such section (subject, however, to section
402(s) of this title), or (C) was entitled to, or
upon application therefor and attainment of the
required age (if any) would have been entitled
to, a widow’s, child’s (after attainment of age
18), or parent’s insurance annuity under section
231a of title 45. For purposes of clause (2), a wife
shall be deemed to have been married to an indi-
vidual for a period of one year throughout the
month in which occurs the first anniversary of
her marriage to such individual. For purposes of
subparagraph (C) of section 402(b)(1) of this title,
a divorced wife shall be deemed not to be mar-
ried throughout the month in which she be-
comes divorced.
(c) Widow
(1) The term ‘‘widow’’ (except when used in the
first sentence of section 402(i) of this title)
means the surviving wife of an individual, but
only if (A) she is the mother of his son or daugh-
ter, (B) she legally adopted his son or daughter
while she was married to him and while such son
or daughter was under the age of eighteen, (C)
he legally adopted her son or daughter while she
was married to him and while such son or
daughter was under the age of eighteen, (D) she
was married to him at the time both of them le-
gally adopted a child under the age of eighteen,
(E) except as provided in paragraph (2), she was
married to him for a period of not less than nine
months immediately prior to the day on which
he died, or (F) in the month prior to the month
of her marriage to him (i) she was entitled to, or
on application therefor and attainment of age 62
in such prior month would have been entitled to,
benefits under subsection (b), (e), or (h) of sec-
tion 402 of this title, (ii) she had attained age
eighteen and was entitled to, or on application
therefor would have been entitled to, benefits
under subsection (d) of such section (subject,
however, to section 402(s) of this title), or (iii)
she was entitled to, or upon application therefor
and attainment of the required age (if any)
would have been entitled to, a widow’s, child’s
(after attainment of age 18), or parent’s insur-
ance annuity under section 231a of title 45.
(2) The requirements of paragraph (1)(E) in
connection with the surviving wife of an indi-
vidual shall be treated as satisfied if—
(A) the individual had been married prior to
the individual’s marriage to the surviving
wife,
(B) the prior wife was institutionalized dur-
ing the individual’s marriage to the prior wife
due to mental incompetence or similar inca-
pacity,
(C) during the period of the prior wife’s in-
stitutionalization, the individual would have
divorced the prior wife and married the sur-
viving wife, but the individual did not do so
because such divorce would have been unlaw-
ful, by reason of the prior wife’s institutional-
ization, under the laws of the State in which
the individual was domiciled at the time (as
determined based on evidence satisfactory to
the Commissioner of Social Security),
(D) the prior wife continued to remain insti-
tutionalized up to the time of her death, and
(E) the individual married the surviving wife
within 60 days after the prior wife’s death.
(d) Divorced spouses; divorce
(1) The term ‘‘divorced wife’’ means a woman
divorced from an individual, but only if she had
been married to such individual for a period of
10 years immediately before the date the divorce
became effective.
(2) The term ‘‘surviving divorced wife’’ means
a woman divorced from an individual who has
died, but only if she had been married to the in-
dividual for a period of 10 years immediately be-
fore the date the divorce became effective.
(3) The term ‘‘surviving divorced mother’’
means a woman divorced from an individual who
has died, but only if (A) she is the mother of his
son or daughter, (B) she legally adopted his son
or daughter while she was married to him and
while such son or daughter was under the age of
18, (C) he legally adopted her son or daughter
while she was married to him and while such son
or daughter was under the age of 18, or (D) she
was married to him at the time both of them le-
gally adopted a child under the age of 18.
(4) The term ‘‘divorced husband’’ means a man
divorced from an individual, but only if he had
been married to such individual for a period of
10 years immediately before the date the divorce
became effective.
(5) The term ‘‘surviving divorced husband’’
means a man divorced from an individual who
has died, but only if he had been married to the
individual for a period of 10 years immediately
before the divorce became effective.
(6) The term ‘‘surviving divorced father’’
means a man divorced from an individual who
has died, but only if (A) he is the father of her
son or daughter, (B) he legally adopted her son
or daughter while he was married to her and
while such son or daughter was under the age of
18, (C) she legally adopted his son or daughter
while he was married to her and while such son
or daughter was under the age of 18, or (D) he
was married to her at the time both of them le-
gally adopted a child under the age of 18.
(7) The term ‘‘surviving divorced parent’’
means a surviving divorced mother as defined in
paragraph (3) of this subsection or a surviving
divorced father as defined in paragraph (6).
(8) The terms ‘‘divorce’’ and ‘‘divorced’’ refer
to a divorce a vinculo matrimonii.
(e) Child
The term ‘‘child’’ means (1) the child or le-
gally adopted child of an individual, (2) a step-
child who has been such stepchild for not less
than one year immediately preceding the day on
which application for child’s insurance benefits
is filed or (if the insured individual is deceased)
not less than nine months immediately pre-
ceding the day on which such individual died,
and (3) a person who is the grandchild or
stepgrandchild of an individual or his spouse,
but only if (A) there was no natural or adoptive
Page 2023
TITLE 42—THE PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE
§ 416
parent (other than such a parent who was under
a disability, as defined in section 423(d) of this
title) of such person living at the time (i) such
individual became entitled to old-age insurance
benefits or disability insurance benefits or died,
or (ii) if such individual had a period of dis-
ability which continued until such individual
became entitled to old-age insurance benefits or
disability insurance benefits, or died, at the
time such period of disability began, or (B) such
person was legally adopted after the death of
such individual by such individual’s surviving
spouse in an adoption that was decreed by a
court of competent jurisdiction within the
United States and such person’s natural or
adopting parent or stepparent was not living in
such individual’s household and making regular
contributions toward such person’s support at
the time such individual died. For purposes of
clause (1), a person shall be deemed, as of the
date of death of an individual, to be the legally
adopted child of such individual if such person
was either living with or receiving at least one-
half of his support from such individual at the
time of such individual’s death and was legally
adopted by such individual’s surviving spouse
after such individual’s death but only if (A) pro-
ceedings for the adoption of the child had been
instituted by such individual before his death,
or (B) such child was adopted by such individ-
ual’s surviving spouse before the end of two
years after (i) the day on which such individual
died or (ii) August 28, 1958. For purposes of
clause (2), a person who is not the stepchild of
an individual shall be deemed the stepchild of
such individual if such individual was not the
mother or adopting mother or the father or
adopting father of such person and such indi-
vidual and the mother or adopting mother, or
the father or adopting father, as the case may
be, of such person went through a marriage cere-
mony resulting in a purported marriage between
them which, but for a legal impediment de-
scribed in the last sentence of subsection
(h)(1)(B), would have been a valid marriage. For
purposes of clause (2), a child shall be deemed to
have been the stepchild of an individual for a pe-
riod of one year throughout the month in which
occurs the expiration of such one year. For pur-
poses of clause (3), a person shall be deemed to
have no natural or adoptive parent living (other
than a parent who was under a disability)
throughout the most recent month in which a
natural or adoptive parent (not under a dis-
ability) dies.
(f) Husband
The term ‘‘husband’’ means the husband of an
individual, but only if (1) he is the father of her
son or daughter, (2) he was married to her for a
period of not less than one year immediately
preceding the day on which his application is
filed, or (3) in the month prior to the month of
his marriage to her (A) he was entitled to, or on
application therefor and attainment of age 62 in
such prior month would have been entitled to,
benefits under subsection (c), (f) or (h) of section
402 of this title, (B) he had attained age eighteen
and was entitled to, or on application therefor
would have been entitled to, benefits under sub-
section (d) of such section (subject, however, to
section 402(s) of this title), or (C) he was entitled
to, or upon application therefor and attainment
of the required age (if any) he would have been
entitled to, a widower’s, child’s (after attain-
ment of age 18), or parent’s insurance annuity
under section 231a of title 45. For purposes of
clause (2), a husband shall be deemed to have
been married to an individual for a period of one
year throughout the month in which occurs the
first anniversary of his marriage to her. For pur-
poses of subparagraph (C) of section 402(c)(1) of
this title, a divorced husband shall be deemed
not to be married throughout the month which
he becomes divorced.
(g) Widower
(1) The term ‘‘widower’’ (except when used in
the first sentence of section 402(i) of this title)
means the surviving husband of an individual,
but only if (A) he is the father of her son or
daughter, (B) he legally adopted her son or
daughter while he was married to her and while
such son or daughter was under the age of eight-
een, (C) she legally adopted his son or daughter
while he was married to her and while such son
or daughter was under the age of eighteen, (D)
he was married to her at the time both of them
legally adopted a child under the age of eight-
een, (E) except as provided in paragraph (2), he
was married to her for a period of not less than
nine months immediately prior to the day on
which she died, or (F) in the month before the
month of his marriage to her (i) he was entitled
to, or on application therefor and attainment of
age 62 in such prior month would have been enti-
tled to, benefits under subsection (c), (f) or (h) of
section 402 of this title, (ii) he had attained age
eighteen and was entitled to, or on application
therefor would have been entitled to, benefits
under subsection (d) of such section (subject,
however, to section 402(s) of this title), or (iii) he
was entitled to, or on application therefor and
attainment of the required age (if any) he would
have been entitled to, a widower’s, child’s (after
attainment of age 18), or parent’s insurance an-
nuity under section 231a of title 45.
(2) The requirements of paragraph (1)(E) in
connection with the surviving husband of an in-
dividual shall be treated as satisfied if—
(A) the individual had been married prior to
the individual’s marriage to the surviving hus-
band,
(B) the prior husband was institutionalized
during the individual’s marriage to the prior
husband due to mental incompetence or simi-
lar incapacity,
(C) during the period of the prior husband’s
institutionalization, the individual would have
divorced the prior husband and married the
surviving husband, but the individual did not
do so because such divorce would have been
unlawful, by reason of the prior husband’s in-
stitutionalization, under the laws of the State
in which the individual was domiciled at the
time (as determined based on evidence satis-
factory to the Commissioner of Social Secu-
rity),
(D) the prior husband continued to remain
institutionalized up to the time of his death,
and
(E) the individual married the surviving hus-
band within 60 days after the prior husband’s
death.
Page 2024
TITLE 42—THE PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE
§ 416
(h) Determination of family status
(1)(A)(i) An applicant is the wife, husband,
widow, or widower of a fully or currently in-
sured individual for purposes of this subchapter
if the courts of the State in which such insured
individual is domiciled at the time such appli-
cant files and application, or, if such insured in-
dividual is dead, the courts of the State in which
he was domiciled at the time of death, or, if
such insured individual is or was not so domi-
ciled in any State, the courts of the District of
Columbia, would find that such applicant and
such insured individual were validly married at
the time such applicant files such application
or, if such insured individual is dead, at the time
he died.
(ii) If such courts would not find that such ap-
plicant and such insured individual were validly
married at such time, such applicant shall, nev-
ertheless be deemed to be the wife, husband,
widow, or widower, as the case may be, of such
insured individual if such applicant would,
under the laws applied by such courts in deter-
mining the devolution of intestate personal
property, have the same status with respect to
the taking of such property as a wife, husband,
widow, or widower of such insured individual.
(B)(i) In any case where under subparagraph
(A) an applicant is not (and is not deemed to be)
the wife, widow, husband, or widower of a fully
or currently insured individual, or where under
subsection (b), (c), (d), (f), or (g) such applicant
is not the wife, divorced wife, widow, surviving
divorced wife, husband, divorced husband, wid-
ower, or surviving divorced husband of such in-
dividual, but it is established to the satisfaction
of the Commissioner of Social Security that
such applicant in good faith went through a
marriage ceremony with such individual result-
ing in a purported marriage between them
which, but for a legal impediment not known to
the applicant at the time of such ceremony,
would have been a valid marriage, then, for pur-
poses of subparagraph (A) and subsections (b),
(c), (d), (f), and (g), such purported marriage
shall be deemed to be a valid marriage. Notwith-
standing the preceding sentence, in the case of
any person who would be deemed under the pre-
ceding sentence a wife, widow, husband, or wid-
ower of the insured individual, such marriage
shall not be deemed to be a valid marriage un-
less the applicant and the insured individual
were living in the same household at the time of
the death of the insured individual or (if the in-
sured individual is living) at the time the appli-
cant files the application. A marriage that is
deemed to be a valid marriage by reason of the
preceding sentence shall continue to be deemed
a valid marriage if the insured individual and
the person entitled to benefits as the wife or
husband of the insured individual are no longer
living in the same household at the time of the
death of such insured individual.
(ii) The provisions of clause (i) shall not apply
if the Commissioner of Social Security deter-
mines, on the basis of information brought to
the Commissioner’s attention, that such appli-
cant entered into such purported marriage with
such insured individual with knowledge that it
would not be a valid marriage.
(iii) The entitlement to a monthly benefit
under subsection (b) or (c) of section 402 of this
title, based on the wages and self-employment
income of such insured individual, of a person
who would not be deemed to be a wife or hus-
band of such insured individual but for this sub-
paragraph, shall end with the month before the
month in which such person enters into a mar-
riage, valid without regard to this subparagraph,
with a person other than such insured indi-
vidual.
(iv) For purposes of this subparagraph, a legal
impediment to the validity of a purported mar-
riage includes only an impediment (I) resulting
from the lack of dissolution of a previous mar-
riage or otherwise arising out of such previous
marriage or its dissolution, or (II) resulting
from a defect in the procedure followed in con-
nection with such purported marriage.
(2)(A) In determining whether an applicant is
the child or parent of a fully or currently in-
sured individual for purposes of this subchapter,
the Commissioner of Social Security shall apply
such law as would be applied in determining the
devolution of intestate personal property by the
courts of the State in which such insured indi-
vidual is domiciled at the time such applicant
files application, or, if such insured individual is
dead, by the courts of the State in which he was
domiciled at the time of his death, or, if such in-
sured individual is or was not so domiciled in
any State, by the courts of the District of Co-
lumbia. Applicants who according to such law
would have the same status relative to taking
intestate personal property as a child or parent
shall be deemed such.
(B) If an applicant is a son or daughter of a
fully or currently insured individual but is not
(and is not deemed to be) the child of such in-
sured individual under subparagraph (A), such
applicant shall nevertheless be deemed to be the
child of such insured individual if such insured
individual and the mother or father, as the case
may be, of such applicant went through a mar-
riage ceremony resulting in a purported mar-
riage between them which, but for a legal im-
pediment described in the last sentence of para-
graph (1)(B), would have been a valid marriage.
(3) An applicant who is the son or daughter of
a fully or currently insured individual, but who
is not (and is not deemed to be) the child of such
insured individual under paragraph (2) of this
subsection, shall nevertheless be deemed to be
the child of such insured individual if:
(A) in the case of an insured individual enti-
tled to old-age insurance benefits (who was
not, in the month preceding such entitlement,
entitled to disability insurance benefits)—
(i) such insured individual—
(I) has acknowledged in writing that the
applicant is his or her son or daughter,
(II) has been decreed by a court to be the
mother or father of the applicant, or
(III) has been ordered by a court to con-
tribute to the support of the applicant be-
cause the applicant is his or her son or
daughter,
and such acknowledgment, court decree, or
court order was made not less than one year
before such insured individual became enti-
tled to old-age insurance benefits or at-
tained retirement age (as defined in sub-
section (l)), whichever is earlier; or
Page 2025
TITLE 42—THE PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE
§ 416
(ii) such insured individual is shown by
evidence satisfactory to the Commissioner
of Social Security to be the mother or father
of the applicant and was living with or con-
tributing to the support of the applicant at
the time such applicant’s application for
benefits was filed;
(B) in the case of an insured individual enti-
tled to disability insurance benefits, or who
was entitled to such benefits in the month pre-
ceding the first month for which he or she was
entitled to old-age insurance benefits—
(i) such insured individual—
(I) has acknowledged in writing that the
applicant is his or her son or daughter,
(II) has been decreed by a court to be the
mother or father of the applicant, or
(III) has been ordered by a court to con-
tribute to the support of the applicant be-
cause the applicant is his or her son or
daughter,
and such acknowledgment, court decree, or
court order was made before such insured in-
dividual’s most recent period of disability
began; or
(ii) such insured individual is shown by
evidence satisfactory to the Commissioner
of Social Security to be the mother or father
of the applicant and was living with or con-
tributing to the support of that applicant at
the time such applicant’s application for
benefits was filed;
(C) in the case of a deceased individual—
(i) such insured individual—
(I) had acknowledged in writing that the
applicant is his or her son or daughter,
(II) had been decreed by a court to be the
mother or father of the applicant, or
(III) had been ordered by a court to con-
tribute to the support of the applicant be-
cause the applicant was his or her son or
daughter,
and such acknowledgment, court decree, or
court order was made before the death of
such insured individual, or
(ii) such insured individual is shown by
evidence satisfactory to the Commissioner
of Social Security to have been the mother
or father of the applicant, and such insured
individual was living with or contributing to
the support of the applicant at the time such
insured individual died.
For purposes of subparagraphs (A)(i) and (B)(i),
an acknowledgement, court decree, or court
order shall be deemed to have occurred on the
first day of the month in which it actually oc-
curred.
(i) Disability; period of disability
(1) Except for purposes of sections 402(d),
402(e), 402(f), 423, and 425 of this title, the term
‘‘disability’’ means (A) inability to engage in
any substantial gainful activity by reason of
any medically determinable physical or mental
impairment which can be expected to result in
death or has lasted or can be expected to last for
a continuous period of not less than 12 months,
or (B) blindness; and the term ‘‘blindness’’
means central visual acuity of 20/200 or less in
the better eye with the use of a correcting lens.
An eye which is accompanied by a limitation in
the fields of vision such that the widest diame-
ter of the visual field subtends an angle no
greater than 20 degrees shall be considered for
purposes of this paragraph as having a central
visual acuity of 20/200 or less. The provisions of
paragraphs (2)(A), (2)(B), (3), (4), (5), and (6) of
section 423(d) of this title shall be applied for
purposes of determining whether an individual
is under a disability within the meaning of the
first sentence of this paragraph in the same
manner as they are applied for purposes of para-
graph (1) of such section. Nothing in this sub-
chapter shall be construed as authorizing the
Commissioner of Social Security or any other
officer or employee of the United States to
interfere in any way with the practice of medi-
cine or with relationships between practitioners
of medicine and their patients, or to exercise
any supervision or control over the administra-
tion or operation of any hospital.
(2)(A) The term ‘‘period of disability’’ means a
continuous period (beginning and ending as
hereinafter provided in this subsection) during
which an individual was under a disability (as
defined in paragraph (1)), but only if such period
is of not less than five full calendar months’ du-
ration or such individual was entitled to bene-
fits under section 423 of this title for one or
more months in such period.
(B) No period of disability shall begin as to
any individual unless such individual files an ap-
plication for a disability determination with re-
spect to such period; and no such period shall
begin as to any individual after such individual
attains retirement age (as defined in subsection
(l)). In the case of a deceased individual, the re-
quirement of an application under the preceding
sentence may be satisfied by an application for
a disability determination filed with respect to
such individual within 3 months after the month
in which he died.
(C) A period of disability shall begin—
(i) on the day the disability began, but only
if the individual satisfies the requirements of
paragraph (3) on such day; or
(ii) if such individual does not satisfy the re-
quirements of paragraph (3) on such day, then
on the first day of the first quarter thereafter
in which he satisfies such requirements.
(D) A period of disability shall end with the
close of whichever of the following months is
the earlier: (i) the month preceding the month
in which the individual attains retirement age
(as defined in subsection (l)), or (ii) the month
preceding (I) the termination month (as defined
in section 423(a)(1) of this title), or, if earlier (II)
the first month for which no benefit is payable
by reason of section 423(e) of this title, where no
benefit is payable for any of the succeeding
months during the 36-month period referred to
in such section. The provisions set forth in sec-
tion 423(f) of this title with respect to deter-
minations of whether entitlement to benefits
under this subchapter or subchapter XVIII based
on the disability of any individual is terminated
(on the basis of a finding that the physical or
mental impairment on the basis of which such
benefits are provided has ceased, does not exist,
or is not disabling) shall apply in the same man-
Page 2026
TITLE 42—THE PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE
§ 416
ner and to the same extent with respect to de-
terminations of whether a period of disability
has ended (on the basis of a finding that the
physical or mental impairment on the basis of
which the finding of disability was made has
ceased, does not exist, or is not disabling).
(E) Except as is otherwise provided in subpara-
graph (F), no application for a disability deter-
mination which is filed more than 12 months
after the month prescribed by subparagraph (D)
as the month in which the period of disability
ends (determined without regard to subpara-
graph (B) and this subparagraph) shall be ac-
cepted as an application for purposes of this
paragraph.
(F) An application for a disability determina-
tion which is filed more than 12 months after
the month prescribed by subparagraph (D) as the
month in which the period of disability ends (de-
termined without regard to subparagraphs (B)
and (E)) shall be accepted as an application for
purposes of this paragraph if—
(i) in the case of an application filed by or on
behalf of an individual with respect to a dis-
ability which ends after January 1968, such ap-
plication is filed not more than 36 months
after the month in which such disability
ended, such individual is alive at the time the
application is filed, and the Commissioner of
Social Security finds in accordance with regu-
lations prescribed by the Commissioner that
the failure of such individual to file an appli-
cation for a disability determination within
the time specified in subparagraph (E) was at-
tributable to a physical or mental condition of
such individual which rendered him incapable
of executing such an application, and
(ii) in the case of an application filed by or
on behalf of an individual with respect to a pe-
riod of disability which ends in or before Janu-
ary 1968—
(I) such application is filed not more than
12 months after January 1968,
(II) a previous application for a disability
determination has been filed by or on behalf
of such individual (1) in or before January
1968, and (2) not more than 36 months after
the month in which his disability ended, and
(III) the Commissioner of Social Security
finds in accordance with regulations pre-
scribed by the Commissioner, that the fail-
ure of such individual to file an application
within the then specified time period was at-
tributable to a physical or mental condition
of such individual which rendered him in-
capable of executing such an application.
In making a determination under this sub-
section, with respect to the disability or period
of disability of any individual whose application
for a determination thereof is accepted solely by
reason of the provisions of this subparagraph
(F), the provisions of this subsection (other than
the provisions of this subparagraph) shall be ap-
plied as such provisions are in effect at the time
such determination is made.
(G) An application for a disability determina-
tion filed before the first day on which the appli-
cant satisfies the requirements for a period of
disability under this subsection shall be deemed
a valid application (and shall be deemed to have
been filed on such first day) only if the applicant
satisfies the requirements for a period of dis-
ability before the Commissioner of Social Secu-
rity makes a final decision on the application
and no request under section 405(b) of this title
for notice and opportunity for a hearing thereon
is made or, if such a request is made, before a
decision based upon the evidence adduced at the
hearing is made (regardless of whether such de-
cision becomes the final decision of the Commis-
sioner of Social Security).
(3) The requirements referred to in clauses (i)
and (ii) of paragraph (2)(C) of this subsection are
satisfied by an individual with respect to any
quarter only if—
(A) he would have been a fully insured indi-
vidual (as defined in section 414 of this title)
had he attained age 62 and filed application for
benefits under section 402(a) of this title on
the first day of such quarter; and
(B)(i) he had not less than 20 quarters of cov-
erage during the 40-quarter period which ends
with such quarter, or
(ii) if such quarter ends before he attains (or
would attain) age 31, not less than one-half
(and not less than 6) of the quarters during the
period ending with such quarter and beginning
after he attained the age of 21 were quarters of
coverage, or (if the number of quarters in such
period is less than 12) not less than 6 of the
quarters in the 12-quarter period ending with
such quarter were quarters of coverage, or
(iii) in the case of an individual (not other-
wise insured under clause (i)) who, by reason
of clause (ii), had a prior period of disability
that began during a period before the quarter
in which he or she attained age 31, not less
than one-half of the quarters beginning after
such individual attained age 21 and ending
with such quarter are quarters of coverage, or
(if the number of quarters in such period is
less than 12) not less than 6 of the quarters in
the 12-quarter period ending with such quarter
are quarters of coverage;
except that the provisions of subparagraph (B)
of this paragraph shall not apply in the case of
an individual who is blind (within the meaning
of ‘‘blindness’’ as defined in paragraph (1)). For
purposes of subparagraph (B) of this paragraph,
when the number of quarters in any period is an
odd number, such number shall be reduced by
one, and a quarter shall not be counted as part
of any period if any part of such quarter was in-
cluded in a prior period of disability unless such
quarter was a quarter of coverage.
(j) Periods of limitation ending on nonwork days
Where this subchapter, any provision of an-
other law of the United States (other than the
Internal Revenue Code of 1986) relating to or
changing the effect of this subchapter, or any
regulation issued by the Commissioner of Social
Security pursuant thereto provides for a period
within which an act is required to be done which
affects eligibility for or the amount of any ben-
efit or payment under this subchapter or is nec-
essary to establish or protect any rights under
this subchapter, and such period ends on a Sat-
urday, Sunday, or legal holiday, or on any other
day all or part of which is declared to be a non-
work day for Federal employees by statute or
Executive order, then such act shall be consid-
Page 2027
TITLE 42—THE PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE
§ 416
ered as done within such period if it is done on
the first day thereafter which is not a Saturday,
Sunday, or legal holiday or any other day all or
part of which is declared to be a nonwork day
for Federal employees by statute or Executive
order. For purposes of this subsection, the day
on which a period ends shall include the day on
which an extension of such period, as authorized
by law or by the Commissioner of Social Secu-
rity pursuant to law, ends. The provisions of
this subsection shall not extend the period dur-
ing which benefits under this subchapter may
(pursuant to section 402(j)(1) or 423(b) of this
title) be paid for months prior to the day appli-
cation for such benefits is filed, or during which
an application for benefits under this subchapter
may (pursuant to section 402(j)(2) or 423(b) of
this title) be accepted as such.
(k) Waiver of nine-month requirement for widow,
stepchild, or widower in case of accidental
death or in case of serviceman dying in line
of duty, or in case of remarriage to same in-
dividual
The requirement in clause (E) of subsection
(c)(1) or clause (E) of subsection (g)(1) that the
surviving spouse of an individual have been mar-
ried to such individual for a period of not less
than nine months immediately prior to the day
on which such individual died in order to qualify
as such individual’s widow or widower, and the
requirement in subsection (e) that the stepchild
of a deceased individual have been such step-
child for not less than nine months immediately
preceding the day on which such individual died
in order to qualify as such individual’s child,
shall be deemed to be satisfied, where such indi-
vidual dies within the applicable nine-month pe-
riod, if—
(1) his death—
(A) is accidental, or
(B) occurs in line of duty while he is a
member of a uniformed service serving on
active duty (as defined in section 410(l)(2) of
this title),
unless the Commissioner of Social Security
determines that at the time of the marriage
involved the individual could not have reason-
ably been expected to live for nine months, or
(2)(A) the widow or widower of such indi-
vidual had been previously married to such in-
dividual and subsequently divorced and such
requirement would have been satisfied at the
time of such divorce if such previous marriage
had been terminated by the death of such indi-
vidual at such time instead of by divorce; or
(B) the stepchild of such individual had been
the stepchild of such individual during a pre-
vious marriage of such stepchild’s parent to
such individual which ended in divorce and
such requirement would have been satisfied at
the time of such divorce if such previous mar-
riage had been terminated by the death of
such individual at such time instead of by di-
vorce;
except that paragraph (2) of this subsection
shall not apply if the Commissioner of Social
Security determines that at the time of the
marriage involved the individual could not have
reasonably been expected to live for nine
months. For purposes of paragraph (1)(A) of this
subsection, the death of an individual is acci-
dental if he receives bodily injuries solely
through violent, external, and accidental means
and, as a direct result of the bodily injuries and
independently of all other causes, loses his life
not later than three months after the day on
which he receives such bodily injuries.
(l) Retirement age
(1) The term ‘‘retirement age’’ means—
(A) with respect to an individual who attains
early retirement age (as defined in paragraph
(2)) before January 1, 2000, 65 years of age;
(B) with respect to an individual who attains
early retirement age after December 31, 1999,
and before January 1, 2005, 65 years of age plus
the number of months in the age increase fac-
tor (as determined under paragraph (3)) for the
calendar year in which such individual attains
early retirement age;
(C) with respect to an individual who attains
early retirement age after December 31, 2004,
and before January 1, 2017, 66 years of age;
(D) with respect to an individual who attains
early retirement age after December 31, 2016,
and before January 1, 2022, 66 years of age plus
the number of months in the age increase fac-
tor (as determined under paragraph (3)) for the
calendar year in which such individual attains
early retirement age; and
(E) with respect to an individual who attains
early retirement age after December 31, 2021,
67 years of age.
(2) The term ‘‘early retirement age’’ means
age 62 in the case of an old-age, wife’s, or hus-
band’s insurance benefit, and age 60 in the case
of a widow’s or widower’s insurance benefit.
(3) The age increase factor for any individual
who attains early retirement age in a calendar
year within the period to which subparagraph
(B) or (D) of paragraph (1) applies shall be deter-
mined as follows:
(A) With respect to an individual who at-
tains early retirement age in the 5-year period
consisting of the calendar years 2000 through
2004, the age increase factor shall be equal to
two-twelfths of the number of months in the
period beginning with January 2000 and ending
with December of the year in which the indi-
vidual attains early retirement age.
(B) With respect to an individual who at-
tains early retirement age in the 5-year period
consisting of the calendar years 2017 through
2021, the age increase factor shall be equal to
two-twelfths of the number of months in the
period beginning with January 2017 and ending
with December of the year in which the indi-
vidual attains early retirement age.
(Aug. 14, 1935, ch. 531, title II, § 216, as added Aug.
28, 1950, ch. 809, title I, § 104(a), 64 Stat. 492, 510;
amended July 18, 1952, ch. 945, § 3(d), 66 Stat. 771;
Sept. 1, 1954, ch. 1206, title I, § 106(d), 68 Stat.
1080; Aug. 1, 1956, ch. 836, title I, §§ 102(a), (d)(12),
103(c)(6), 70 Stat. 809, 815, 818; Pub. L. 85–109, § 1,
July 17, 1957, 71 Stat. 308; Pub. L. 85–238, § 3(h),
Aug. 30, 1957, 71 Stat. 519; Pub. L. 85–840, title II,
§§ 201, 203, 204(a), title III, §§ 301(a)(2), (b)(2),
(c)(2), (d), (e), 302(a), 305(b), Aug. 28, 1958, 72 Stat.
1020, 1021, 1026–1028, 1030; Pub. L. 86–778, title II,
Page 2028
TITLE 42—THE PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE
§ 416
§§ 207(a)–(c), 208(a)–(c), title IV, §§ 402(e), 403(c),
title VII, § 703, Sept. 13, 1960, 74 Stat. 950–952, 968,
969, 994; Pub. L. 87–64, title I, §§ 102(b)(2)(D),
(c)(1), (2)(B), (3)(C), 105, June 30, 1961, 75 Stat. 134,
135, 139; Pub. L. 88–650, § 1(a)–(c), Oct. 13, 1964, 78
Stat. 1075; Pub. L. 89–97, title III, §§ 303(a)(1),
(b)(1), (2), 304(l), 306(c)(13), 308(c), (d)(2)(B), 328(b),
334(a)–(d), 339(a), 344(a), July 30, 1965, 79 Stat. 366,
367, 370, 373, 377, 378, 400, 404, 405, 409, 412; Pub. L.
90–248, title I, §§ 104(d)(2), 105(a), 111(a), 150(a),
156(a)–(d), 158(d), 172(a), (b), Jan. 2, 1968, 81 Stat.
832, 833, 837, 860, 866, 869, 877; Pub. L. 92–603, title
I, §§ 104(g), 113(a), 115(b), 116(d), 117(a), 118(b),
145(a), Oct. 30, 1972, 86 Stat. 1341, 1347, 1349–1351,
1370; Pub. L. 93–445, title III, § 304, Oct. 16, 1974,
88 Stat. 1358; Pub. L. 95–216, title III, § 337(a),
Dec. 20, 1977, 91 Stat. 1548; Pub. L. 96–265, title
III, §§ 303(b)(2)(B), 306(b), June 9, 1980, 94 Stat.
453, 457; Pub. L. 96–473, § 5(a)(2), Oct. 19, 1980, 94
Stat. 2265; Pub. L. 97–35, title XXII, §§ 2202(a)(2),
2203(b)(2), (c)(2), (d)(3), (4), Aug. 13, 1981, 95 Stat.
835–837; Pub. L. 98–21, title II, § 201(a), (c)(1)(D),
title III, §§ 301(c), 303, 304(c), 306(c), 309(j), (k),
332(a), 333(a), Apr. 20, 1983, 97 Stat. 107, 109, 111,
112, 114, 117, 129; Pub. L. 98–369, div. B, title VI,
§§ 2661(l), 2662(c)(1), 2663(a)(11), July 18, 1984, 98
Stat. 1158, 1159, 1164; Pub. L. 98–460, §§ 2(b),
4(a)(2), Oct. 9, 1984, 98 Stat. 1796, 1800; Pub. L.
100–203, title IX, § 9010(e)(1), Dec. 22, 1987, 101
Stat.
1330–294;
Pub.
L.
101–508,
title
V,
§§ 5103(b)(1), 5104(a), 5119(a), (b), Nov. 5, 1990, 104
Stat. 1388–251, 1388–254, 1388–278, 1388–279; Pub. L.
103–296, title I, § 107(a)(4), title III, § 321(c)(6)(H),
Aug. 15, 1994, 108 Stat. 1478, 1538; Pub. L. 108–203,
title IV, § 414(a)–(c), Mar. 2, 2004, 118 Stat. 529,
530.)
Editorial Notes
REFERENCES IN TEXT
The Internal Revenue Code of 1986, referred to in sub-
sec. (j), is classified generally to Title 26, Internal Rev-
enue Code.
CONSTITUTIONALITY
For information regarding the constitutionality of
section 339(a) of Pub. L. 89–97, amending this section,
see the Table of Laws Held Unconstitutional in Whole
or in Part by the Supreme Court on the Constitution
Annotated website, constitution.congress.gov.
AMENDMENTS
2004—Subsec. (c). Pub. L. 108–203, § 414(a), designated
existing provisions as par. (1), redesignated former cls.
(1) to (6) as cls. (A) to (F), respectively, of par. (1), in
cl. (E) inserted ‘‘except as provided in paragraph (2),’’
before ‘‘she was married’’, in cl. (F) redesignated
former subcls. (A) to (C) as subcls. (i) to (iii), respec-
tively, and added par. (2).
Subsec. (g). Pub. L. 108–203, § 414(b), designated exist-
ing provisions as par. (1), redesignated former cls. (1) to
(6) as cls. (A) to (F), respectively, of par. (1), in cl. (E)
inserted ‘‘except as provided in paragraph (2),’’ before
‘‘he was married’’, in cl. (F) redesignated former subcls.
(A) to (C) as subcls. (i) to (iii), respectively, and added
par. (2).
Subsec. (k). Pub. L. 108–203, § 414(c), substituted
‘‘clause (E) of subsection (c)(1) or clause (E) of sub-
section (g)(1)’’ for ‘‘clause (5) of subsection (c) or clause
(5) of subsection (g)’’ in introductory provisions.
1994—Subsecs. (h), (i). Pub. L. 103–296, § 107(a)(4), sub-
stituted ‘‘Commissioner of Social Security’’ for ‘‘Sec-
retary’’ wherever appearing, ‘‘the Commissioner’s’’ for
‘‘his’’ in subsec. (h)(1)(B)(ii), and ‘‘prescribed by the
Commissioner’’ for ‘‘prescribed by him’’ in subsec.
(i)(2)(F)(i), (ii)(III).
Subsec. (j). Pub. L. 103–296, § 321(c)(6)(H), substituted
‘‘1986’’ for ‘‘1954’’ after ‘‘Code of’’.
Pub. L. 103–296, § 107(a)(4), substituted ‘‘Commissioner
of Social Security’’ for ‘‘Secretary’’ in two places.
Subsec. (k). Pub. L. 103–296, § 107(a)(4), substituted
‘‘Commissioner of Social Security’’ for ‘‘Secretary’’ in
two places.
1990—Subsec. (e). Pub. L. 101–508, § 5104(a), substituted
‘‘either living with or receiving at least one-half of his
support from such individual at the time of such indi-
vidual’s death’’ for ‘‘at the time of such individual’s
death living in such individual’s household’’ and struck
out before period at end of second sentence ‘‘; except
that this sentence shall not apply if at the time of such
individual’s death such person was receiving regular
contributions toward his support from someone other
than such individual or his spouse, or from any public
or private welfare organization which furnishes serv-
ices or assistance for children’’.
Subsec. (h)(1)(A). Pub. L. 101–508, § 5119(a)(1), des-
ignated first and second sentences as cls. (i) and (ii), re-
spectively.
Subsec. (h)(1)(B)(i). Pub. L. 101–508, § 5119(b), sub-
stituted ‘‘where under subsection (b), (c), (d), (f), or (g)
such applicant is not the wife, divorced wife, widow,
surviving divorced wife, husband, divorced husband,
widower, or surviving divorced husband of such indi-
vidual’’ for ‘‘where under subsection (b), (c), (f), or (g)
such applicant is not the wife, widow, husband, or wid-
ower of such individual’’, struck out ‘‘and such appli-
cant and the insured individual were living in the same
household at the time of the death of such insured indi-
vidual or (if such insured individual is living) at the
time such applicant files the application,’’ after ‘‘valid
marriage,’’, substituted ‘‘subsections (b), (c), (d), (f),
and (g)’’ for ‘‘subsections (b), (c), (f), and (g)’’, and in-
serted at end ‘‘Notwithstanding the preceding sentence,
in the case of any person who would be deemed under
the preceding sentence a wife, widow, husband, or wid-
ower of the insured individual, such marriage shall not
be deemed to be a valid marriage unless the applicant
and the insured individual were living in the same
household at the time of the death of the insured indi-
vidual or (if the insured individual is living) at the
time the applicant files the application. A marriage
that is deemed to be a valid marriage by reason of the
preceding sentence shall continue to be deemed a valid
marriage if the insured individual and the person enti-
tled to benefits as the wife or husband of the insured
individual are no longer living in the same household
at the time of the death of such insured individual.’’
Pub. L. 101–508, § 5119(a)(2)(A), inserted ‘‘(i)’’ after
‘‘(B)’’.
Subsec. (h)(1)(B)(ii). Pub. L. 101–508, § 5119(a)(2)(B),
(C), substituted ‘‘(ii) The provisions of clause (i) shall
not apply’’ for ‘‘The provisions of the preceding sen-
tence shall not apply (i) if another person is or has been
entitled to a benefit under subsection (b), (c), (e), (f), or
(g) of section 402 of this title on the basis of the wages
and self-employment income of such insured individual
and such other person is (or is deemed to be) a wife,
widow, husband, or widower of such insured individual
under subparagraph (A) at the time such applicant files
the application, or (ii)’’.
Subsec.
(h)(1)(B)(iii).
Pub.
L.
101–508,
§ 5119(a)(2)(D)–(G), substituted ‘‘(iii) The entitlement to
a monthly benefit under subsection (b) or (c)’’ for ‘‘The
entitlement to a monthly benefit under subsection (b),
(c), (e), (f), or (g)’’, ‘‘a wife or husband’’ for ‘‘a wife,
widow, husband, or widower’’, and ‘‘in which such per-
son enters’’ for ‘‘(i) in which the Secretary certifies,
pursuant to section 405(i) of this title, that another per-
son is entitled to a benefit under subsection (b), (c), (e),
(f), or (g) of section 402 of this title on the basis of the
wages and self-employment income of such insured in-
dividual, if such other person is (or is deemed to be) the
wife, widow, husband, or widower of such insured indi-
vidual under subparagraph (A), or (ii) if the applicant is
Page 2029
TITLE 42—THE PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE
§ 416
entitled to a monthly benefit under subsection (b) or
(c) of section 402 of this title, in which such applicant
entered’’.
Subsec. (h)(1)(B)(iv). Pub. L. 101–508, § 5119(a)(2)(H),
(I), inserted ‘‘(iv)’’ before ‘‘For purposes’’ and sub-
stituted ‘‘(I)’’ and ‘‘(II)’’ for ‘‘(i)’’ and ‘‘(ii)’’, respec-
tively.
Subsec. (i)(1). Pub. L. 101–508, § 5103(b)(1), substituted
‘‘(2)(B)’’ for ‘‘(2)(C)’’.
1987—Subsec. (i)(2)(D)(ii)(II). Pub. L. 100–203 sub-
stituted ‘‘36-month period’’ for ‘‘15-month period’’.
1984—Subsec. (f). Pub. L. 98–369, § 2661(l)(1), inserted
provision that for purposes of subparagraph (C) of sec-
tion 402(c)(1) of this title, a divorced husband shall be
deemed not to be married throughout the month which
he becomes divorced.
Subsec. (h)(3). Pub. L. 98–369, § 2663(a)(11)(A), made
technical amendment to directory language of Pub. L.
97–35, § 2203(d)(4). See 1981 Amendment Note below.
Subsec. (h)(3)(A)(i). Pub. L. 98–369, § 2661(l)(2), sub-
stituted ‘‘subsection (l)’’ for ‘‘section 416(l) of this
title’’.
Subsec. (i)(1). Pub. L. 98–460, § 4(a)(2), inserted
‘‘(2)(C),’’ after ‘‘(2)(A),’’.
Subsec. (i)(2)(B). Pub. L. 98–369, § 2661(l)(3), substituted
‘‘subsection (l)’’ for ‘‘section 416(l) of this title’’.
Pub. L. 98–369, § 2662(c)(1), made clarifying amend-
ment to Pub. L. 98–21, § 201(c)(1)(D). See 1983 Amend-
ment note below.
Subsec. (i)(2)(D). Pub. L. 98–460, § 2(b), inserted ‘‘The
provisions set forth in section 423(f) of this title with
respect to determinations of whether entitlement to
benefits under this subchapter or subchapter XVIII
based on the disability of any individual is terminated
(on the basis of a finding that the physical or mental
impairment on the basis of which such benefits are pro-
vided has ceased, does not exist, or is not disabling)
shall apply in the same manner and to the same extent
with respect to determinations of whether a period of
disability has ended (on the basis of a finding that the
physical or mental impairment on the basis of which
the finding of disability was made has ceased, does not
exist, or is not disabling).’’
Pub. L. 98–369, § 2661(l)(3), substituted ‘‘subsection (l)’’
for ‘‘section 416(l) of this title’’.
Subsec. (i)(2)(F)(ii). Pub. L. 98–369, § 2663(a)(11)(B),
substituted a dash for a comma after ‘‘before January
1968’’ in provisions preceding subcl. (I).
1983—Subsec. (a). Pub. L. 98–21, § 304(c), added subsec.
(a).
Subsec. (d)(4), (5). Pub. L. 98–21, § 301(c)(1), added pars.
(4) and (5). Former par. (4) redesignated (6).
Subsec. (d)(6). Pub. L. 98–21, § 306(c), added par. (6) and
redesignated former par. (6) as (8).
Pub. L. 98–21, § 301(c)(1), redesignated former par. (4)
as (6).
Subsec. (d)(7). Pub. L. 98–21, § 306(c), added par. (7).
Subsec. (d)(8). Pub. L. 98–21, § 306(c), redesignated
former par. (6) as (8).
Subsecs. (f)(3)(A), (g)(6)(A). Pub. L. 98–21, § 309(j), (k),
inserted reference to subsec. (c) of section 402 of this
title.
Subsec. (h)(3). Pub. L. 98–21, § 333(a), substituted ‘‘sub-
paragraphs (A)(i) and (B)(i)’’ for ‘‘subparagraph (A)(i)’’
in provisions following subpar. (C)(ii).
Subsec. (h)(3)(A)(i). Pub. L. 98–21, § 201(c)(1)(D), sub-
stituted ‘‘retirement age (as defined in subsection (l) of
this section)’’ for ‘‘age 65’’.
Subsec. (h)(3)(A)(i)(I). Pub. L. 98–21, § 303(d)(1), sub-
stituted ‘‘his or her’’ for ‘‘his’’.
Subsec. (h)(3)(A)(i)(II). Pub. L. 98–21, § 303(a), inserted
‘‘mother or’’ before ‘‘father’’.
Subsec. (h)(3)(A)(i)(III). Pub. L. 98–21, § 303(d)(1), sub-
stituted ‘‘his or her’’ for ‘‘his’’.
Subsec. (h)(3)(A)(ii). Pub. L. 98–21, § 303(a), (b), in-
serted ‘‘mother or’’ before ‘‘father’’ and substituted
‘‘such applicant’s application for benefits was filed’’ for
‘‘such insured individual became entitled to benefits or
attained retirement age (as defined in subsection (l) of
this section), whichever first occurred’’.
Pub. L. 98–21, § 201(c)(1)(D), substituted ‘‘retirement
age (as defined in subsection (l) of this section)’’ for
‘‘age 65’’.
Subsec. (h)(3)(B). Pub. L. 98–21, § 303(d)(2), substituted
‘‘he or she’’ for ‘‘he’’ in provisions preceding cl. (i).
Subsec. (h)(3)(B)(i)(I). Pub. L. 98–21, § 303(d)(1), sub-
stituted ‘‘his or her’’ for ‘‘his’’.
Subsec. (h)(3)(B)(i)(II). Pub. L. 98–21, § 303(a), inserted
‘‘mother or’’ before ‘‘father’’.
Subsec. (h)(3)(B)(i)(III). Pub. L. 98–21, § 303(d)(1), sub-
stituted ‘‘his or her’’ for ‘‘his’’.
Subsec. (h)(3)(B)(ii). Pub. L. 98–21, § 303(c), substituted
‘‘such applicant’s application for benefits was filed’’ for
‘‘such period of disability began’’.
Pub. L. 98–21, § 303(a), inserted ‘‘mother or’’ before
‘‘father’’.
Subsec. (h)(3)(C)(i)(I). Pub. L. 98–21, § 303(d)(1), sub-
stituted ‘‘his or her’’ for ‘‘his’’.
Subsec. (h)(3)(C)(i)(II). Pub. L. 98–21, § 303(a), inserted
‘‘mother or’’ before ‘‘father’’.
Subsec. (h)(3)(C)(i)(III). Pub. L. 98–21, § 303(d)(1), sub-
stituted ‘‘his or her’’ for ‘‘his’’.
Subsec. (h)(3)(C)(ii). Pub. L. 98–21, § 303(a), inserted
‘‘mother or’’ before ‘‘father’’.
Subsec. (i)(2)(B). Pub. L. 98–21, § 201(c)(1)(D), as
amended by Pub. L. 98–369, § 2662(c)(1), substituted ‘‘re-
tirement age (as defined in subsection (l))’’ for ‘‘the age
of 65’’.
Subsec. (i)(2)(D). Pub. L. 98–21, § 201(c)(1)(D), sub-
stituted ‘‘retirement age (as defined in subsection (l))’’
for ‘‘age 65’’.
Subsec. (i)(3)(B)(iii). Pub. L. 98–21, § 332(a), added cl.
(iii).
Subsec. (l). Pub. L. 98–21, § 201(a), added subsec. (l).
1981—Subsec. (b). Pub. L. 97–35, § 2203(b)(2), inserted
provisions that for purposes of cl. (2), a wife be deemed
to have been married to an individual for a period of
one year throughout the month in which occurs the
first anniversary of her marriage to such individual and
for purposes of section 402(b)(1)(C) of this title, a di-
vorced wife be deemed not to be married throughout
the month in which she becomes divorced.
Subsec. (c). Pub. L. 97–35, § 2202(a)(2)(A), inserted ‘‘the
first sentence of’’ before ‘‘section 402(i) of this title’’.
Subsec. (e). Pub. L. 97–35, § 2203(d)(3), inserted provi-
sions that for purposes of cl. (2), a child be deemed to
have been a stepchild of an individual for a period of
one year throughout the month in which occurs the ex-
piration of such one year and for purposes of cl. (3), a
person be deemed to have no natural or adoptive parent
living, other than a parent who is under a disability,
throughout the most recent month in which a natural
or adoptive parent, not under a disability, dies.
Subsec. (f). Pub. L. 97–35, § 2203(c)(2), inserted provi-
sion that for purposes of cl. (2), a husband be deemed to
have been married to an individual for a period of one
year throughout the month in which occurs the first
anniversary of his marriage to her.
Subsec. (g). Pub. L. 97–35, § 2202(a)(2)(B), inserted ‘‘the
first sentence of’’ before ‘‘section 402(i) of this title’’.
Subsec. (h)(3). Pub. L. 97–35, § 2203(d)(4), as amended
by Pub. L. 98–369, § 2663(a)(11)(A), inserted provision
that for purposes of subpar. (A)(i), an acknowledge-
ment, court decree, or court order be deemed to have
occurred on the first day of the month in which it actu-
ally occurred.
1980—Subsec. (i)(1). Pub. L. 96–473 inserted reference
to section 423(d)(6) of this title.
Subsec. (i)(2)(D)(ii). Pub. L. 96–265, § 303(b)(2)(B), sub-
stituted ‘‘(ii) the month preceding (I) the termination
month (as defined in section 423(a)(1) of this title), or,
if earlier (II) the first month for which no benefit is
payable by reason of section 423(e) of this title, where
no benefit is payable for any of the succeeding months
during the 15-month period referred to in such section’’
for ‘‘(ii) the second month following the month in
which the disability ceases’’.
Subsec. (i)(2)(G). Pub. L. 96–265, § 306(b), inserted pro-
visions placing limitations on the prospective effect of
applications.
Page 2030
TITLE 42—THE PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE
§ 416
1977—Subsec. (d)(1), (2). Pub. L. 95–216 substituted
‘‘10’’ for ‘‘20’’ wherever appearing.
1974—Subsecs. (b), (c), (f), (g). Pub. L. 93–445 sub-
stituted ‘‘section 231a of title 45’’ for ‘‘section 228e of
title 45’’.
1972—Subsec. (e). Pub. L. 92–603, § 113(a), extended def-
inition of ‘‘child’’ to include grandchildren and
stepgrandchildren of an individual or his spouse.
Subsec. (i)(2)(A). Pub. L. 92–603, § 116(d), substituted
‘‘five’’ for ‘‘6’’.
Subsec. (i)(2)(B). Pub. L. 92–603, § 118(b), provided for
the filing of an application for a disability determina-
tion after the death of the insured individual.
Subsec. (i)(3). Pub. L. 92–603, §§ 104(g), 117(a), struck
out ‘‘(if a woman) or age 65 (if a man)’’ after ‘‘attained
age 62’’ in subpar. (A), and substituted provisions elimi-
nating the disability insured status requirement of sub-
stantial recent covered work in the case of individuals
who are blind for provisions excepting the provisions of
subpar. (A) in the case of an individual with respect to
whom a period of disability would, but for such subpar.,
begin before 1951 in the provisions following subpar.
(B).
Subsec. (k). Pub. L. 92–603, §§ 115(b), 145(a), designated
existing pars. (1) and (2) as subpars. (A) and (B) of par.
(1), added par. (2), in par. (1), as so redesignated, sub-
stituted ‘‘unless the Secretary determines that at the
time of the marriage involved the individual could not
have reasonably been expected to live for nine months’’
for ‘‘and he would satisfy such requirement if a three-
month period were substituted for the nine-month pe-
riod’’, and in material following par. (2) substituted
‘‘except that paragraph (2) of this subsection shall not
apply’’ for ‘‘except that this subsection shall not
apply’’.
1968—Subsec. (c)(5). Pub. L. 90–248, § 156(a), sub-
stituted ‘‘not less than nine months’’ for ‘‘not less than
one year’’.
Subsec. (e). Pub. L. 90–248, §§ 150(a), 156(b), inserted in
first sentence ‘‘not less than nine months immediately
preceding’’ before ‘‘the day on which such individual
died’’, and added, in second sentence, cl. (A) and incor-
porated existing provisions in cl. (B).
Subsec. (g)(5). Pub. L. 90–248, § 156(c), substituted ‘‘not
less than nine months’’ for ‘‘not less than one year’’.
Subsec. (i)(1). Pub. L. 90–248, §§ 104(d)(2), 158(d), 172(a),
(b), inserted ‘‘402(e), 402(f),’’ after ‘‘402(d),’’, redefined
‘‘blindness’’ to mean central visual acuity of 20/200
rather than 5/200 or less in the better eye and sub-
stituted provision deeming an eye accompanied by a
limitation in the fields of vision such that the widest
diameter of the visual field subtends an angle no great-
er than 20 degrees as having a central visual acuity of
20/200 or less for former provision deeming an eye in
which visual field is reduced to five degrees or less con-
centric contraction as having a central visual acuity of
5/200 or less, respectively, and deleted former third sen-
tence which provided that an individual was not
deemed under a disability unless he furnished proof as
required and added third sentence making section
423(d)(2)(A), (3), (4), and (5) of this title applicable to de-
termine if an individual is under a disability.
Subsec. (i)(2)(E) to (G). Pub. L. 90–248, § 111(a), in-
serted introductory exception phrase, added subpar.
(F), and redesignated former subpar. (F) as (G).
Subsec. (i)(3)(B)(ii). Pub. L. 90–248, § 105(a), struck out
‘‘and he is under a disability by reason of blindness (as
defined in paragraph (1) of this subsection)’’ after ‘‘age
31’’.
Subsec. (k). Pub. L. 90–248, § 156(d), added subsec. (k).
1965—Subsec.
(b).
Pub.
L.
89–97,
§§ 306(c)(13),
308(d)(2)(B), 334(a), inserted ‘‘(subject, however, to sec-
tion 402(s) of this title)’’, included reference to subsec.
(b) of section 402 of this title, and added cl. (3)(C), re-
spectively.
Subsec. (c). Pub. L. 89–97, §§ 306(c)(13), 308(d)(2)(B),
334(b), inserted ‘‘(subject, however, to section 402(s) of
this title)’’, included reference to subsec. (b) of section
402 of this title, and added cl. (6)(C), respectively.
Subsec. (d). Pub. L. 89–97, § 308(c), added pars. (1), (2),
and (4), defining ‘‘divorced wife’’, ‘‘surviving divorced
wife’’, and ‘‘divorce’’ and ‘‘divorced’’, and incorporated
definition of ‘‘former wife divorced’’ in par. (3), insert-
ing ‘‘who has died’’ after ‘‘individual’’ and redesig-
nating cls. (1) to (4) as (A) to (D), respectively.
Subsec. (f). Pub. L. 89–97, §§ 306(c)(13), 334(c), inserted
‘‘(subject, however, to section 402(s) of this title)’’ and
added cl. (3)(C), respectively.
Subsec. (g). Pub. L. 89–97, §§ 306(c)(13), 334(d), inserted
‘‘(subject, however, to section 402(s) of this title)’’ and
added cl. (6)(C), respectively.
Subsec. (h). Pub. L. 89–97, § 339(a), added par. (3).
Subsec. (i)(1)(A). Pub. L. 89–97, § 303(a)(1), substituted
‘‘or has lasted or can be expected to last for a contin-
uous period of not less than 12 months’’ for ‘‘or to be
of long-continued and indefinite duration’’.
Subsec. (i)(2). Pub. L. 89–97, § 303(b)(1), struck out
sixth sentence providing that: ‘‘Any application for a
disability determination which is filed within such
three months’ period or six months’ period shall be
deemed to have been filed on such first day or in such
first month, as the case may be.’’
Subsec. (i)(2)(A). Pub. L. 89–97, § 303(b)(1), designated
first sentence as subpar. (A).
Subsec. (i)(2)(B). Pub. L. 89–97, § 303(b)(1), designated
second sentence as subpar. (B), substituted therein ‘‘No
period of disability’’ for ‘‘No such disability’’, and
struck out ‘‘, while under such disability,’’ after ‘‘un-
less such individual’’.
Subsec. (i)(2)(C). Pub. L. 89–97, §§ 303(b)(1), 304(l), des-
ignated third sentence as subpar. (C), struck out ‘‘(sub-
ject to section 423(a)(3) of this title)’’ before ‘‘begin’’,
and redesignated cls. (A) and (B) thereof as (i) and (ii);
and again struck out ‘‘(subject to section 423(a)(3) of
this title)’’ before ‘‘begin’’, respectively.
Subsec. (i)(2)(D). Pub. L. 89–97, § 303(b)(1), designated
fourth sentence as subpar. (D), substituted ‘‘the close of
whichever of the following months is the earlier: (i) the
month preceding the month in which the individual at-
tains age 65, or (ii) the second month following the
month in which the disability ceases’’ for ‘‘the close of
the last day of the month preceding which of the fol-
lowing months is the earlier: the month in which the
individual attains age sixty-five or the third month fol-
lowing the month in which the disability ceases’’.
Subsec. (i)(2)(E). Pub. L. 89–97, § 303(b)(1), designated
fifth sentence as subpar. (E), substituted ‘‘12 months’’
for ‘‘three months’’ and ‘‘after the month prescribed by
subparagraph (D) as the month in which the period of
disability ends (determined without regard to subpara-
graph (B) and this subparagraph)’’ for ‘‘before the first
day on which a period of disability can begin (as deter-
mined under this paragraph), or, in any case in which
clause (ii) of section 423(a)(1) of this title is applicable,
more than six months before the first month for which
such applicant becomes entitled to benefits under sec-
tion 423 of this title,’’, and struck out ‘‘, and no such
application which is filed prior to January 1, 1955, shall
be accepted’’ after ‘‘for purposes of this paragraph’’.
Subsec. (i)(2)(F). Pub. L. 89–97, § 328(b), added subpar.
(F).
Subsec. (i)(3). Pub. L. 89–97, §§ 303(b)(2), 344(a), sub-
stituted ‘‘clauses (i) and (ii) of paragraph (2)(C)’’ for
‘‘clauses (A) and (B) of paragraph (2)’’, removed from
existing subpar. (B) provision prohibiting the inclusion,
as part of such 40-quarter period, of any quarter any
part of which was included in a prior period of dis-
ability unless such quarter was a quarter of coverage,
and designated such subpar., as so amended, as subpar.
(B)(i), added subpar. (B)(ii), and, in the material fol-
lowing subpar. (B)(ii), inserted provision prohibiting in-
clusion of any quarter as part of any period if any part
of such quarter was included in a prior period of dis-
ability unless such quarter was a quarter of coverage
and calling for reduction by one of the number of quar-
ters in any period whenever such number of quarters is
an odd number, respectively.
1964—Subsec. (i)(2). Pub. L. 88–650, § 1(a), struck out
provisions which directed that a period of disability
shall begin if the individual satisfies the requirements
of par. (3) of this subsection on such day, on the first
Page 2031
TITLE 42—THE PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE
§ 416
day of the eighteen-month period which ends with the
day before the day on which the individual files such
application.
Subsec. (i)(3). Pub. L. 88–650, § 1(b), substituted ‘‘para-
graph (2) of this subsection’’ for ‘‘paragraphs (2) and (4)
of this subsection’’.
Subsec. (i)(4). Pub. L. 88–650, § 1(c), repealed par. (4)
which related to the beginning of the period of dis-
ability for individuals who filed an application for a
disability determination after Dec. 1954, and before
July 1962, with respect to a disability which began be-
fore January 1961.
1961—Subsec. (a). Pub. L. 87–64, § 102(c)(1), repealed
subsec. (a) which defined retirement age.
Subsecs. (b), (c), (f), (g). Pub. L. 87–64, § 102(c)(2)(B),
substituted ‘‘attainment of age 62’’ for ‘‘attainment of
retirement age’’.
Subsec. (i)(2). Pub. L. 87–64, § 102(b)(2)(D), substituted
‘‘a period of disability shall (subject to section 423(a)(3)
of this title) begin’’ for ‘‘a period of disability shall
begin’’ in third sentence.
Subsec. (i)(3)(A). Pub. L. 87–64, § 102(c)(3)(C), sub-
stituted ‘‘attainment age 62 (if a woman) or age 65 (if
a man)’’ for ‘‘attained retirement age’’.
Subsec. (i)(4). Pub. L. 87–64, § 105, substituted ‘‘July
1962’’ for ‘‘July 1961’’, and ‘‘January 1961’’ for ‘‘July
1960’’.
1960—Subsec. (b). Pub. L. 86–778, § 207(a), substituted
‘‘one year’’ for ‘‘three years’’.
Subsec. (e). Pub. L. 86–778, §§ 207(b), 208(c), in first sen-
tence, reduced the period for eligibility of a stepchild of
a living individual from three years immediately pre-
ceding the day on which application for child’s benefits
is filed to one year immediately preceding the day on
which application for child’s benefits is filed, and in-
serted the last sentence requiring, for purposes of
clause (2), that a person who is not the stepchild of an
individual shall be deemed the stepchild of such indi-
vidual if such individual was not the mother or adopt-
ing mother or the father or adopting father of such per-
son and such individual and the mother or adopting
mother, or the father or adopting father, as the case
may be, of such person went through a marriage cere-
mony resulting in a purported marriage between them
which, but for a legal impediment described in last sen-
tence of subsec. (h)(1)(B) of this section, would have
been a valid marriage.
Subsec. (f). Pub. L. 86–778, § 207(c), substituted ‘‘one
year’’ for ‘‘three years’’.
Subsec. (h)(1). Pub. L. 86–778, § 208(a), designated ex-
isting provisions as subpar. (A) and added subpar. (B).
Subsec. (h)(2). Pub. L. 86–778, § 208(b), designated ex-
isting provisions as subpar. (A) and added subpar. (B).
Subsec. (i)(2). Pub. L. 86–778, §§ 402(e), 403(c), redefined
‘‘period of disability’’ to include a period of less than
six full calendar months’ duration if the individual was
entitled to benefits under section 423 of this title for
one or more months in such period, prohibited accept-
ance of an application, in any case in which clause (ii)
of section 423(a) of this title is applicable, filed more
than six months before the first month for which the
applicant becomes entitled to benefits under section 423
of this title, substituted provisions requiring a period
of disability to end with the close of the last day of the
month preceding whichever of the following months is
the earlier: the month in which the individual attains
age 65 or the third month following the month in which
the disability ceases, for provisions which required a
period of disability to end with the close of the last day
of the first month in which either the disability ceases
or the individual attains the age of 65, and inserted sen-
tence providing that any application for a disability de-
termination which is filed within such three months’
period or six months’ period shall be deemed to have
been filed on such first day or in such first month, as
the case may be.
Subsec. (j). Pub. L. 86–778, § 703, added subsec. (j).
1958—Subsec. (b). Pub. L. 85–840, § 301(d), included
within definition of ‘‘wife’’ a woman who, in the month
prior to the month of her marriage, was entitled to, or
on application therefor and attainment of retirement
age in such prior month would have been entitled to,
benefits under subsection (e) or (h) of section 402 of this
title, or had attained age eighteen and was entitled to,
or on application therefor would have been entitled to,
benefits under subsection (d) of section 402 of this title.
Subsec. (c). Pub. L. 85–840, § 301(b)(2) included within
definition of ‘‘widow’’ a woman whose husband had le-
gally adopted her son or daughter while she was mar-
ried to him and while such son or daughter was under
the age of eighteen, and a woman who, in the month
prior to the month of her marriage, was entitled to, or
on application therefor and attainment of retirement
age in such prior month would have been entitled to,
benefits under subsection (e) or (h) of section 402 of this
title, or had attained age eighteen and was entitled to,
or on application therefor would have been entitled to,
benefits under subsection (d) of section 402 of this title.
Subsec. (d). Pub. L. 85–840, § 301(e), included within
definition of ‘‘former wife divorced’’ a woman whose
husband legally adopted her son or daughter while she
was married to him and while such son or daughter was
under the age of eighteen.
Subsec. (e). Pub. L. 85–840, § 302(a), struck out require-
ment that an adopted child of a living individual must
have been adopted for not less than three years imme-
diately preceding the day on which application for
child’s benefits is filed, and inserted provisions requir-
ing a child to be deemed, as of the date of death of an
individual, to be the legally adopted child of such indi-
vidual if the child was living in the decedent’s house-
hold at the time of his death and was legally adopted
by the surviving spouse after the individual’s death but
before the end of two years after the day on which the
individual died or Aug. 28, 1958, and the child was not
receiving regular contributions toward his support
from someone other than the individual or his spouse,
or from any public or private welfare organization.
Subsec. (f). Pub. L. 85–840, § 301(a)(2), included within
definition of ‘‘husband’’ a person who in the month
prior to the month of his marriage was entitled to, or
on application therefor and attainment of retirement
age in such prior month would have been entitled to,
benefits under subsection (f) or (h) of section 402 of this
title, or who had attained age eighteen and was enti-
tled to, or on application therefor would have been en-
titled to benefits under subsection (d) of section 402 of
this title.
Subsec. (g). Pub. L. 85–840, § 301(c)(2), included within
definition of ‘‘widower’’ a person whose wife had legally
adopted his son or daughter while he was married to
her and while such son or daughter was under the age
of eighteen, and a person who, in the month before the
month of his marriage, was entitled to, or on applica-
tion therefor and attainment of retirement age in such
prior month would have been entitled to, benefits under
subsection (f) or (h) of section 402 of this title, or had
attained age eighteen and was entitled to, or on appli-
cation therefor would have been entitled to, benefits
under subsection (d) of section 402 of this title.
Subsec. (h)(3). Pub. L. 85–840, § 305(b), repealed par. (3)
which defined ‘‘living with’’ for purposes of section
402(i) of this title.
Subsec. (i)(2). Pub. L. 85–840, § 201, substituted ‘‘while
under such disability’’ for ‘‘while under a disability’’ in
opening provisions, and ‘‘eighteen-month period’’ for
‘‘one-year period’’ in cl. (A)(ii).
Subsec. (i)(3). Pub. L. 85–840, § 204(a), struck out provi-
sions that required, for a period of disability to begin
with respect to any quarter, an individual to have not
less than six quarters of coverage during the thirteen-
quarter period which ends with such quarter, and in-
serted provisions requiring an individual to be fully in-
sured.
Subsec. (i)(4). Pub. L. 85–840, § 203, substituted ‘‘July
1961’’ for ‘‘July 1958’’ and ‘‘July 1960’’ for ‘‘July 1957’’,
and struck out provisions which required the applicant
to be alive on July 1, 1955.
1957—Subsec. (h). Pub. L. 85–238 amended subsec. (h)
generally to provide that the applicant is the wife, hus-
Page 2032
TITLE 42—THE PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE
§ 416
band, widow, or widower if there is a finding that the
applicant and the insured individual were validly mar-
ried at the time the application for benefits is filed, or
at the time the insured individual died, and to elimi-
nate provisions which prescribed certain conditions
under which a wife or husband would be deemed to have
been living with his or her spouse, and which related to
determination of status of parent.
Subsec. (i)(4). Pub. L. 85–109, substituted ‘‘July 1958’’
for ‘‘July 1957’’ and ‘‘July 1957’’ for ‘‘July 1956’’.
1956—Subsec. (a). Act Aug. 1, 1956, § 102(a), reduced the
retirement age in the case of a woman from age sixty-
five to age sixty-two.
Subsec. (i)(1). Act Aug. 1, 1956, § 103(c)(6), inserted
‘‘Except for purposes of sections 402(d), 423, and 425 of
this title’’.
Subsec. (i)(2). Act Aug. 1, 1956, § 102(d)(12), substituted
‘‘the age of sixty-five’’ for ‘‘retirement age’’ in two
places.
1954—Subsec. (i). Act Sept. 1, 1954, § 106(d), added sub-
sec. (i). Former subsec. (i), which was added by act July
18, 1952, § 3(d), ceased to be in effect at the close of June
30, 1953. See Effective and Termination Date of 1952
Amendment note set out under section 413 of this title.
1952—Subsec. (i). Act July 18, 1952, added subsec. (i).
Statutory Notes and Related Subsidiaries
EFFECTIVE DATE OF 2004 AMENDMENT
Pub. L. 108–203, title IV, § 414(d), Mar. 2, 2004, 118 Stat.
530, provided that: ‘‘The amendments made by this sec-
tion [amending this section] shall be effective with re-
spect to applications for benefits under title II of the
Social Security Act [this subchapter] filed during
months ending after the date of the enactment of this
Act [Mar. 2, 2004].’’
EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1994 AMENDMENT
Amendment by section 107(a)(4) of Pub. L. 103–296 ef-
fective Mar. 31, 1995, see section 110(a) of Pub. L.
103–296, set out as a note under section 401 of this title.
EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1990 AMENDMENT
Amendment by section 5103(b)(1) of Pub. L. 101–508 ap-
plicable with respect to monthly insurance benefits for
months after December 1990 for which applications are
filed on or after Jan. 1, 1991, or are pending on such
date, see section 5103(e) of Pub. L. 101–508, set out as a
note under section 402 of this title.
Pub. L. 101–508, title V, § 5104(b), Nov. 5, 1990, 104 Stat.
1388–254, provided that: ‘‘The amendments made by this
section [amending this section] shall apply with re-
spect to benefits payable for months after December
1990, but only on the basis of applications filed after
December 31, 1990.’’
Amendment by section 5119(a), (b) of Pub. L. 101–508
applicable with respect to benefits for months after De-
cember 1990, and applicable only with respect to bene-
fits for which application is filed with Secretary of
Health and Human Services after Dec. 31, 1990, with ex-
ception from application requirement, see section
5119(e) of Pub. L. 101–508, set out as a note under section
403 of this title.
EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1987 AMENDMENT
Amendment by Pub. L. 100–203 effective Jan. 1, 1988,
and applicable with respect to individuals entitled to
benefits under specific provisions of sections 402 and 423
of this title for any month after December 1987, and in-
dividuals entitled to benefits payable under specific
provisions of sections 402 and 423 of this title for any
month before January 1988 and with respect to whom
the 15-month period described in the applicable provi-
sion amended by section 9010 of Pub. L. 100–203 has not
elapsed as of Jan. 1, 1988, see section 9010(f) of Pub. L.
100–203, set out as a note under section 402 of this title.
EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1984 AMENDMENT
Amendment by section 2(b) of Pub. L. 98–460 applica-
ble to determinations made by the Secretary on or
after Oct. 9, 1984, with certain enumerated exceptions
and qualifications, see section 2(d) of Pub. L. 98–460, set
out as a note under section 423 of this title.
Amendment by section 4(a)(2) of Pub. L. 98–460 appli-
cable with respect to determinations made on or after
the first day of the first month beginning after 30 days
after Oct. 9, 1984, see section 4(c) of Pub. L. 98–460, set
out as a note under section 423 of this title.
Amendment by section 2661(l) of Pub. L. 98–369 effec-
tive as though included in the enactment of the Social
Security Amendments of 1983, Pub. L. 98–21, see section
2664(a) of Pub. L. 98–369, set out as a note under section
401 of this title.
Amendment by section 2663(a)(11) of Pub. L. 98–369 ef-
fective July 18, 1984, but not to be construed as chang-
ing or affecting any right, liability, status, or interpre-
tation which existed (under the provisions of law in-
volved) before that date, see section 2664(b) of Pub. L.
98–369, set out as a note under section 401 of this title.
EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1983 AMENDMENT
Amendment by sections 301(c), 303, 304(c), 306(c), and
309(j), (k) of Pub. L. 98–21 applicable only with respect
to monthly payments payable under this subchapter for
months after April 1983, see section 310 of Pub. L. 98–21,
set out as a note under section 402 of this title.
Pub. L. 98–21, title III, § 332(c), Apr. 20, 1983, 97 Stat.
129, provided that: ‘‘The amendments made by this sec-
tion [amending this section and section 423 of this title]
shall be effective with respect to applications for dis-
ability insurance benefits under section 223 of the So-
cial Security Act [42 U.S.C. 423], and for disability de-
terminations under section 216(i) of such Act [42 U.S.C.
416(i)], filed after the date of the enactment of this Act
[Apr. 20, 1983], except that no monthly benefits under
title II of the Social Security Act [42 U.S.C. 401 et seq.]
shall be payable or increased by reason of the amend-
ments made by this section for months before the
month following the month of enactment of this Act.’’
Pub. L. 98–21, title III, § 333(b), Apr. 20, 1983, 97 Stat.
130, provided that: ‘‘The amendment made by sub-
section (a) [amending this section] shall be effective on
the date of the enactment of this Act [Apr. 20, 1983].’’
EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1981 AMENDMENT
Amendment by section 2202(a)(2) of Pub. L. 97–35 ap-
plicable only with respect to deaths occurring after Au-
gust 1981, see section 2202(b) of Pub. L. 97–35, set out as
a note under section 402 of this title.
Amendment by section 2203(b)(2), (c)(2) of Pub. L.
97–35 applicable only to monthly insurance benefits
payable to individuals who attain age 62 after August
1981, and amendment by section 2203(d)(3), (4) of Pub. L.
97–35 applicable to monthly insurance benefits for
months after August 1981, and only in the case of indi-
viduals who were not entitled to such insurance bene-
fits for August 1981 or any preceding month, see section
2203(f)(1), (2) of Pub. L. 97–35, set out as a note under
section 402 of this title.
EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1980 AMENDMENT
Amendment by Pub. L. 96–473 effective with respect
to benefits payable for months beginning on or after
Oct. 1, 1980, see section 5(d) of Pub. L. 96–473, set out as
a note under section 402 of this title.
Amendment by section 303(b)(2)(B) of Pub. L. 96–265
effective on first day of sixth month which begins after
June 9, 1980, to apply with respect to any individual
whose disability has not been determined to have
ceased prior to such first day, see section 303(d) of Pub.
L. 96–265, set out as a note under section 402 of this
title.
Amendment by section 306(b) of Pub. L. 96–265 appli-
cable to applications filed after June 1980, see section
306(d) of Pub. L. 96–265, set out as a note under section
402 of this title.
EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1977 AMENDMENT
Amendment by Pub. L. 95–216 effective with respect
to monthly benefits after Dec., 1978, and applications
Page 2033
TITLE 42—THE PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE
§ 416
filed on or after Jan. 1, 1979, see section 337(c) of Pub.
L. 95–216, set out as a note under section 402 of this
title.
EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1974 AMENDMENT
Amendment by Pub. L. 93–445 effective Jan. 1, 1975,
see section 603 of Pub. L. 93–445, set out as a note under
section 402 of this title.
EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1972 AMENDMENT
Amendment by section 104(g) of Pub. L. 92–603 appli-
cable only in the case of a man who attains (or would
attain) age 62 after December 1974, with the figure ‘‘65’’
in subsec. (i)(3)(A) of this section to be deemed to read
‘‘64’’ in the case of a man who attains age 62 in 1973, and
deemed to read ‘‘63’’ in the case of a man who attains
age 62 in 1974, see section 104(j) of Pub. L. 92–603, set out
as a note under section 414 of this title.
Amendment by section 113(a) of Pub. L. 92–603 appli-
cable with respect to monthly benefits payable under
this subchapter for months after December 1972, but
only on the basis of applications filed on or after Octo-
ber 30, 1972, see section 113(c) of Pub. L. 92–603, set out
as a note under section 402 of this title.
Pub. L. 92–603, title I, § 115(c), Oct. 30, 1972, 86 Stat.
1349, provided that: ‘‘The amendments made by this
section [amending this section] shall apply only with
respect to benefits payable under title II of the Social
Security Act [42 U.S.C. 401 et seq.] for months after De-
cember 1972 on the basis of applications filed in or after
the month in which this Act is enacted [October 1972].’’
Amendment by section 116(d) of Pub. L. 92–603 effec-
tive with respect to applications for disability deter-
minations under subsec. (i) of this section filed on or
after October 1972 or before October 1972 under specified
conditions, see section 116(e) of Pub. L. 92–603, set out
as a note under section 423 of this title.
Amendment by section 117(a) of Pub. L. 92–603 effec-
tive with respect to applications for disability deter-
minations under subsec. (i) of this section filed in or
after October 1972 or before October 1972 under specified
conditions, see section 117(c) of Pub. L. 92–603, set out
as a note under section 423 of this title.
Pub. L. 92–603, title I, § 118(c), Oct. 30, 1972, 86 Stat.
1351, provided that: ‘‘The amendments made by this
section [amending this section and section 423 of this
title] shall apply in the case of deaths occurring after
December 31, 1969. For purposes of such amendments
(and for purposes of sections 202(j)(1) and 223(b) of the
Social Security Act [42 U.S.C. 402(j)(1), 423(b)], any ap-
plication with respect to an individual whose death oc-
curred after December 31, 1969, but before the date of
the enactment of this Act [Oct. 30, 1972] which is filed
in, or within 3 months after the month in which this
Act is enacted [October 1972] shall be deemed to have
been filed in the month in which such death occurred.’’
Pub. L. 92–603, title I, § 145(b), Oct. 30, 1972, 86 Stat.
1370, provided that: ‘‘The amendments made by this
section [amending this section] shall apply only with
respect to benefits payable under title II of the Social
Security Act [42 U.S.C. 401 et seq.] for months after De-
cember 1972 on the basis of applications filed in or after
the month in which this Act is enacted [October 1972].’’
EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1968 AMENDMENT
Amendment by section 104 of Pub. L. 90–248 applicable
with respect to monthly benefits under this subchapter
for and after the month of February 1968, but only on
the basis of applications for such benefits filed in or
after January 1968, see section 104(e) of Pub. L. 90–248,
set out as a note under section 402 of this title.
Pub. L. 90–248, title I, § 105(c), Jan. 2, 1968, 81 Stat. 833,
provided that: ‘‘The amendment made by subsection (a)
[amending this section] shall apply only with respect to
applications for disability determinations filed under
section 216(i) of the Social Security Act [42 U.S.C.
416(i)] in or after the month in which this Act is en-
acted [January 1968]. The amendments made by sub-
section (b) [amending section 423 of this title] shall
apply with respect to monthly benefits under title II of
such Act [42 U.S.C. 401 et seq.] for months after Janu-
ary 1968, but only on the basis of applications for such
benefits filed in or after the month in which this Act
is enacted.’’
Pub. L. 90–248, title I, § 111(b), Jan. 2, 1968, 81 Stat. 838,
provided that: ‘‘No monthly insurance benefits under
title II of the Social Security Act [42 U.S.C. 401 et seq.]
shall be payable or increased for any month before the
month in which this Act is enacted [January 1968] by
reason of amendments made by subsection (a) [amend-
ing this section].’’
Pub. L. 90–248, title I, § 150(b), Jan. 2, 1968, 81 Stat. 860,
provided that: ‘‘The amendment made by subsection (a)
[amending this section] shall apply with respect to
monthly benefits payable under title II of the Social
Security Act [42 U.S.C. 401 et seq.] for months after
January 1968, but only on the basis of an application
filed in or after the month in which this Act is enacted
[January 1968].’’
Pub. L. 90–248, title I, § 156(e), Jan. 2, 1968, 81 Stat. 867,
provided that: ‘‘The amendments made by this section
[amending this section] shall apply with respect to
monthly benefits under title II of the Social Security
Act [42 U.S.C. 401 et seq.] for months after January
1968, but only on the basis of applications filed in or
after the month in which this Act is enacted [January
1968].’’
Amendment by section 158(d) of Pub. L. 90–248 appli-
cable with respect to applications for disability insur-
ance benefits under section 423 of this title and to dis-
ability determinations under subsec. (i) of this section,
see section 158(e) of Pub. L. 90–248, set out as a note
under section 423 of this title.
Pub. L. 90–248, title I, § 172(c), Jan. 2, 1968, 81 Stat. 877,
provided that: ‘‘The amendments made by this section
[amending this section] shall be effective with respect
to benefits under section 223 of the Social Security Act
[42 U.S.C. 423] for months after January 1968 based on
applications filed after the date of enactment of this
Act [Jan. 2, 1968] and with respect to disability deter-
minations under section 216(i) of the Social Security
Act [42 U.S.C. 416(i)] based on applications filed after
the date of enactment of this Act.’’
EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1965 AMENDMENT
Amendment by section 308(c), (d)(2)(B) of Pub. L.
89–97 applicable with respect to monthly insurance ben-
efits under this subchapter beginning with the second
month following July 1965, but, in the case of an indi-
vidual who was not entitled to a monthly insurance
benefit under section 402 of this title for the first
month following July 1965, only on the basis of an ap-
plication filed in or after July 1965, see section 308(e) of
Pub. L. 89–97, set out as a note under section 402 of this
title.
Amendment by section 334(a)–(d) of Pub. L. 89–97 ap-
plicable only with respect to monthly insurance bene-
fits under section 401 et seq. of this title beginning with
September 1965 but only on the basis of applications
filed in or after July 1965, see section 334(g) of Pub. L.
89–97, set out as a note under section 402 of this title.
Pub. L. 89–97, title III, § 339(c), July 30, 1965, 79 Stat.
411, provided that: ‘‘The amendments made by sub-
sections (a) and (b) [amending this section and section
402 of this title] shall be applicable with respect to
monthly insurance benefits under title II of the Social
Security Act [42 U.S.C. 401 et seq.] beginning with the
second month following the month in which this Act is
enacted [July 1965] but only on the basis of an applica-
tion filed in or after the month in which this Act is en-
acted.’’
Amendment by section 303(a)(1), (b)(1), (2) of Pub. L.
89–97 effective with respect to applications for dis-
ability insurance benefits under section 423 of this
title, and for disability determinations under subsec. (i)
of this section, filed in or after July 1965 or before July
1965, if the applicant has not died before such month,
and notice of final administrative decision has not been
given to the applicant before such month, except that
Page 2034
TITLE 42—THE PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE
§ 416
monthly insurance benefits under this subchapter shall
not be payable or increased by reason of amendments
to subsecs. (i)(1)(A), (2), (3) of this section for months
before the second month following July 1965, see sec-
tion 303(f)(1) of Pub. L. 89–97, set out as a note under
section 423 of this title.
Amendment by section 304(l) of Pub. L. 89–97 applica-
ble with respect to monthly insurance benefits under
this subchapter for and after the second month fol-
lowing July 1965 but only on the basis of applications
filed in or after July 1965, see section 304(o) of Pub. L.
89–97, set out as a note under section 402 of this title.
Pub. L. 89–97, title III, § 328(d), July 30, 1965, 79 Stat.
401, provided that: ‘‘The amendments made by this sec-
tion [amending this section and sections 402 and 423 of
this title] shall apply with respect to (1) applications
filed on or after the date of enactment of this Act [July
30, 1965], (2) applications as to which the Secretary has
not made a final decision before the date of enactment
of this Act, and (3) if a civil action with respect to final
decision by the Secretary has been commenced under
section 205(g) of the Social Security Act [42 U.S.C.
405(g)] before the date of enactment of this Act, appli-
cations as to which there has been no final judicial de-
cision before the date of enactment of this Act.’’
Pub. L. 89–97, title III, § 344(e), July 30, 1965, 79 Stat.
413, provided that: ‘‘The amendments made by this sec-
tion [amending this section and section 423 of this title]
shall apply only with respect to monthly benefits under
title II of the Social Security Act [42 U.S.C. 401 et seq.]
for months after the first month following the month
in which this Act is enacted [July 1965], on the basis of
applications for such benefits filed in or after the
month in which this Act is enacted.’’
EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1964 AMENDMENT
Pub. L. 88–650, § 1(d), Oct. 13, 1964, 78 Stat. 1075, pro-
vided that:
‘‘(1) The amendments made by subsections (a), (b),
and (c) [amending this section] shall apply in the case
of applications for disability determinations under sec-
tion 216(i) of the Social Security Act [42 U.S.C. 416(i)]
filed after the month following the month in which this
Act is enacted [October 1964].
‘‘(2) Except as provided in the succeeding paragraphs,
such amendments shall also apply, and as though such
amendments had been enacted on July 1, 1962, in the
case of applications for disability determinations filed
under section 216(i) of the Social Security Act [42
U.S.C. 416(i)] during the period beginning July 1, 1962,
and ending with the close of the month following the
month in which this Act is enacted [October 1964], by
an individual who—
‘‘(A) has been under a disability (as defined in such
section 216(i)) continuously since he filed such appli-
cation and up to (i) the first day of the second month
following the month in which this Act is enacted or
(ii) if earlier, the first day of the month in which he
attained the age of 65, and
‘‘(B) is living on the day specified in subparagraph
(A)(i).
‘‘(3) In the case of an individual to whom paragraph
(2) applies and who filed an application for disability
insurance benefits under section 223 of the Social Secu-
rity Act [42 U.S.C. 423] during the period specified in
such paragraph—
‘‘(A) if such individual was under a disability (as de-
fined in section 223(c) of such Act) throughout such
period and was not entitled to disability insurance
benefits under such section 223 for any month in such
period (except for the amendments made by this sec-
tion), such application and any application filed dur-
ing such period for benefits under section 202 of the
Social Security Act [42 U.S.C. 402] on the basis of the
wages and self-employment income of such individual
shall, notwithstanding section 202(j)(2) and the first
sentence of section 223(b), be deemed an effective ap-
plication, or
‘‘(B) if such individual was entitled (without the ap-
plication of this section) to disability insurance bene-
fits under section 223 [42 U.S.C. 423] for a continuous
period of months immediately preceding—
‘‘(i) the second month following the month in
which this Act was enacted [October 1964], or
‘‘(ii) if earlier, the month in which he became en-
titled to benefits under section 202(a) [42 U.S.C.
402(a)],
his primary insurance amount shall be recomputed,
but only if such amount would be increased solely by
reason of the enactment of this section.
‘‘(4) No monthly insurance benefits, and no increase
in monthly insurance benefits, may be paid under title
II of the Social Security Act [42 U.S.C. 401 et seq.] by
reason of the enactment of this section for any month
before the eleventh month before the month in which
this Act is enacted [October 1964].
‘‘(5) In the case of an individual (A) who is entitled
under section 202 of the Social Security Act [42 U.S.C.
402] (but without the application of subsection (j)(1) of
such section) to a widow’s, widower’s, or parent’s insur-
ance benefit, or to an old-age, wife’s or husband’s insur-
ance benefit which is reduced under section 202(q) of
such Act, for any month in the period referred to in
paragraph (2) of this subsection, (B) who was under a
disability (as defined in section 223(c) of the Social Se-
curity Act [42 U.S.C. 423(c)]) which began prior to the
sixth month before the first month for which the bene-
fits referred to in clause (A) are payable and which con-
tinued through the month following the month in
which this Act is enacted [October 1964], and (C) who
files an application for disability insurance benefits
under section 223(a)(1) of the Social Security Act—
‘‘(i) subsection (a)(3) of section 223 of the Social Se-
curity Act shall not prevent him from being entitled
to such disability insurance benefits;
‘‘(ii) the provisions of subsection (a)(1) of such sec-
tion 223 terminating entitlement to disability insur-
ance benefits by reason of entitlement to old-age in-
surance benefits shall not apply with respect to him
unless and until he again becomes entitled to such
old-age insurance benefits under the provisions of
section 202 of such Act;
‘‘(iii) such individual shall, for any month for which
he is thereby entitled to both old-age insurance bene-
fits and disability insurance benefits, be entitled only
to such disability insurance benefits; and
‘‘(iv) in case the benefits reduced under subsection
(q) of section 202 of such Act are old-age insurance
benefits (I) such old-age insurance benefits for the
months in the period referred to in paragraph (2) of
this subsection shall not be recomputed solely by rea-
son of the enactment of this section, and, if otherwise
recomputed, the provisions of and amendments made
by this section shall not apply to such recomputa-
tion; and (II) the months for which he received such
old-age insurance benefits before or during the period
for which he becomes entitled, by reason of such en-
actment, to disability insurance benefits under such
section 223 and the months for which he received such
disability insurance benefits shall be excluded from
the ‘reduction period’ and the ‘adjusted reduction pe-
riod’, as defined in paragraphs (5) and (6), respec-
tively, of such subsection (q) for purposes of deter-
mining the amount of the old-age insurance benefits
to which he may subsequently become entitled.
‘‘(6) The entitlement of any individual to benefits
under section 202 of the Social Security Act [section 402
of this title] shall not be terminated solely by reason
of the enactment of this section, except where such in-
dividual is entitled to benefits under section 202(a) or
223 of such Act [42 U.S.C. 402(a), 423] in an amount
which (but for this subsection) would have required ter-
mination of such benefits under such section 202.’’
EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1961 AMENDMENT
Amendment by section 102(b)(2)(D) of Pub. L. 87–64 ef-
fective Aug. 1, 1961, and amendment by section 102(c)(1),
(2)(B), (3)(C) of Pub. L. 87–64 applicable with respect to
monthly benefits for months beginning on or after Au-
gust 1, 1961, based on applications filed in or after
Page 2035
TITLE 42—THE PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE
§ 416
March 1961, and with respect to lump-sum death pay-
ments under this subchapter in the case of deaths on or
after August 1, 1961, see sections 102(f)(4), (6) and 109 of
Pub. L. 87–64, set out as notes under section 402 of this
title.
Pub. L. 87–64, title I, § 105, June 30, 1961, 75 Stat. 139,
provided that the amendment made by that section is
effective with respect to applications for disability de-
terminations filed on or after July 1, 1961.
EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1960 AMENDMENT
Pub. L. 86–778, title II, § 207(d), Sept. 13, 1960, 74 Stat.
951, provided that: ‘‘The amendments made by this sec-
tion [amending this section] shall apply only with re-
spect to monthly benefits under section 202 of the So-
cial Security Act [42 U.S.C. 402] for months beginning
with the month in which this Act is enacted [Sep-
tember 1960], on the basis of applications filed in or
after such month.’’
Pub. L. 86–778, title II, § 208(f), Sept. 13, 1960, 74 Stat.
952, provided that: ‘‘The amendments made by the pre-
ceding provisions of this section [amending this section
and section 402 of this title] shall be applicable (1) with
respect to monthly benefits under title II of the Social
Security Act [this subchapter] for months beginning
with the month in which this Act is enacted [Sep-
tember 1960] on the basis of an application filed in or
after such month, and (2) in the case of a lump-sum
death payment under such title based on an application
filed in or after such month, but only if no person,
other than the person filing such application, has filed
an application for a lump-sum death payment under
such title prior to the date of the enactment of this Act
[Sept. 13, 1960] with respect to the death of the same in-
dividual.’’
Amendment by section 402(e) of Pub. L. 86–778 appli-
cable only in the case of individuals who become enti-
tled to benefits under section 423 of this title in or after
September 1960, see section 402(f) of Pub. L. 86–778, set
out as a note under section 423 of this title.
Amendment by section 403(c) of Pub. L. 86–778 appli-
cable only in the case of individuals who have a period
of disability (as defined in subsec. (i) of this section) be-
ginning on or after Sept. 13, 1960, or beginning before
Sept. 13, 1960 and continuing, without regard to such
amendment, beyond the end of September 1960, see sec-
tion 403(e) of Pub. L. 86–778, set out as a note under sec-
tion 422 of this title.
EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1958 AMENDMENT
Pub. L. 85–840, title II, § 207(a), Aug. 28, 1958, 72 Stat.
1025, provided that: ‘‘The amendments made by section
201 [amending this section] shall apply with respect to
applications for a disability determination under sec-
tion 216(i) of the Social Security Act [subsec. (i) of this
section] filed after June 1961. The amendments made by
section 202 [amending section 423 of this title] shall
apply with respect to applications for disability insur-
ance benefits under section 223 of such Act filed after
December 1957. The amendments made by section 203
[amending this section] shall apply with respect to ap-
plications for a disability determination under such
section 216(i) filed after June 1958. The amendments
made by section 204 [amending this section and section
423 of this title] shall apply with respect to (1) applica-
tions for disability insurance benefits under such sec-
tion 223 or for a disability determination under such
section 216(i) filed on or after the date of enactment of
this Act [Aug. 28, 1958], and (2) applications for such
benefits or for such a determination filed after 1957 and
prior to such date of enactment if the applicant has not
died prior to such date of enactment and if notice to
the applicant of the Secretary’s decision with respect
thereto has not been given to him on or prior to such
date, except that (A) no benefits under title II of the
Social Security Act [42 U.S.C. 401 et seq.] for the month
in which this Act is enacted [August 1958] or any prior
month shall be payable or increased by reason of the
amendments made by section 204 of this Act, and (B)
the provisions of section 215(f)(1) of the Social Security
Act [42 U.S.C. 415(f)(1)] shall not prevent recomputation
of monthly benefits under section 202 of such Act [42
U.S.C. 402] (but no such recomputation shall be re-
garded as a recomputation for purposes of section 215(f)
of such Act). The amendments made by section 205
(other than by subsections (k) and (m)) [amending sec-
tions 401, 402, 403, 414, 422, and 425 of this title] shall
apply with respect to monthly benefits under title II of
the Social Security Act [42 U.S.C. 401 et seq.] for
months after the month in which this Act is enacted,
but only if an application for such benefits is filed on
or after the date of enactment of this Act. The amend-
ments made by section 206 [repealing section 424 of this
title] and by subsections (k) and (m) of section 205
[amending sections 403 and 415 of this title] shall apply
with respect to monthly benefits under title II of the
Social Security Act [42 U.S.C. 401 et seq.] for the month
in which this Act is enacted and succeeding months.’’
Amendment by section 301(a)(2), (b)(2), (c)(2), (d), (e)
of Pub. L. 85–840 applicable with respect to monthly
benefits under section 402 of this title for months be-
ginning after Aug. 28, 1958, but only if an application
for such benefits is filed on or after such date, see sec-
tion 301(f) of Pub. L. 85–840, set out as a note under sec-
tion 402 of this title.
Pub. L. 85–840, title III, § 302(b), Aug. 28, 1958, 72 Stat.
1028, provided that: ‘‘The amendment made by this sec-
tion [amending this section] shall apply with respect to
monthly benefits under section 202 of the Social Secu-
rity Act [42 U.S.C. 402] for months beginning after the
date of enactment of this Act [Aug. 28, 1958], but only
if an application for such benefits is filed on or after
such date.’’
Amendment by section 305(b) of Pub. L. 85–840 appli-
cable in the case of lump-sum death payments under
section 402(i) of this title on the basis of the wages and
self-employment income of any individual who dies
after August 1958, see section 305(c) of Pub. L. 85–840,
set out as a note under section 402 of this title.
EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1957 AMENDMENT
Amendment by Pub. L. 85–238 applicable to monthly
benefits under section 402 of this title for months after
August 1957, but not to operate to deprive any such par-
ent of benefits to which he would otherwise be entitled
under section 402(h) of this title, see section 3(i) of Pub.
L. 85–238, set out as a note under section 402 of this
title.
EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1956 AMENDMENT
Act Aug. 1, 1956, ch. 836, title I, § 102(b), 70 Stat. 809,
provided that:
‘‘(1) The amendment made by subsection (a) [amend-
ing this section] shall apply in the case of benefits
under subsection (e) of section 202 of the Social Secu-
rity Act [42 U.S.C. 402(e)] for months after October 1956,
but only, except in the case of an individual who was
entitled to wife’s or mother’s insurance benefits under
such section 202 for October 1956, or any month there-
after, on the basis of applications filed after the date of
enactment of this Act [Aug. 1, 1956]. The amendment
made by subsection (a) shall apply in the case of bene-
fits under subsection (h) of such section 202 for months
after October 1956 on the basis of applications filed
after the date of enactment of this Act.
‘‘(2) Except as provided in paragraphs (1) and (4), the
amendment made by subsection (a) shall apply in the
case of lump-sum death payments under section 202(i)
of the Social Security Act with respect to deaths after
October 1956, and in the case of monthly benefits under
title II of such Act [42 U.S.C. 401 et seq.] for months
after October 1956 on the basis of applications filed
after the date of enactment of this Act.
‘‘(3) For purposes of section 215(b)(3)(B) of the Social
Security Act [42 U.S.C. 415(b)(3)(B)] (but subject to
paragraphs (1) and (2) of this subsection)—
‘‘(A) a woman who attains the age of sixty-two
prior to November 1956 and who was not eligible for
Page 2036
TITLE 42—THE PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE
§ 417
old-age insurance benefits under section 202 of such
Act (as in effect prior to the enactment of this Act)
for any month prior to November 1956 shall be
deemed to have attained the age of sixty-two in 1956
or, if earlier, the year in which she died;
‘‘(B) a woman shall not, by reason of the amend-
ment made by subsection (a), be deemed to be a fully
insured individual before November 1956 or the month
in which she died, whichever month is the earlier;
and
‘‘(C) the amendment made by subsection (a) shall
not be applicable in the case of any woman who was
eligible for old-age insurance benefits under such sec-
tion 202 for any month prior to November 1956.
A woman shall, for purposes of this paragraph, be
deemed eligible for old-age insurance benefits under
section 202 of the Social Security Act for any month if
she was or would have been, upon filing application
therefor in such month, entitled to such benefits for
such month.
‘‘(4) For purposes of section 209(i) of such Act [42
U.S.C. 409(i)], the amendment made by subsection (a)
shall apply only with respect to remuneration paid
after October 1956.’’
EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1954 AMENDMENT
Amendment by section 106(d) of act Sept. 1, 1954, ap-
plicable with respect to monthly benefits under sub-
chapter II of this chapter for months after June 1955,
and with respect to lump-sum death payments under
such subchapter in the case of deaths occurring after
June 1955; but that no recomputation of benefits by
reason of such amendments shall be regarded as a re-
computation for purposes of section 415(f) of this title,
see section 106(h) of act Sept. 1, 1954, set out as a note
under section 413 of this title.
EFFECTIVE AND TERMINATION DATE OF 1952
AMENDMENT
For effective and termination dates of amendment by
Act July 18, 1952, see section 3(f), (g) of act July 18, 1952,
set out as a note under section 413 of this title.
EFFECTIVE DATE
Section applicable (1) in case of monthly benefits for
months after August 1950, and (2) in the case of lump-
sum death payments with respect to deaths after Au-
gust 1950, see section 104(b) of act Aug. 28, 1950, set out
as an Effective Date of 1950 Amendment note under sec-
tion 409 of this title.
RETROACTIVE BENEFITS
For provisions relating to entitlement to retroactive
benefits under section 2 of Pub. L. 98–460 (which amend-
ed subsec. (i)(2)(D) of this section), see section 2(f) of
Pub. L. 98–460, set out as a note under section 423 of
this title.
PROMULGATION OF REGULATIONS
For provisions requiring the Secretary of Health and
Human Services to prescribe regulations necessary to
implement amendment to subsec. (i)(2)(D) of this sec-
tion by section 2(b) of Pub. L. 98–460 not later than 180
days after Oct. 9, 1984, see section 2(g) of Pub. L. 98–460,
set out as a note under section 423 of this title.
STUDY
OF
EFFECT
OF
RAISING
RETIREMENT
AGE
ON
THOSE UNLIKELY TO BENEFIT FROM IMPROVEMENTS
IN LONGEVITY
Pub. L. 98–21, title II, § 201(d), Apr. 20, 1983, 97 Stat.
109, required the Secretary to conduct a comprehensive
study and analysis of the implications of the changes
made by this section (amending sections 402, 403, 415,
416, and 423 of this title) in retirement age in the case
of certain individuals and submit to Congress no later
than January 1, 1986, a full report on the study and
analysis, including any recommendations for legisla-
tive changes.
SPECIAL INSURED STATUS TEST IN CERTAIN CASES FOR
DISABILITY PURPOSES
Pub. L. 86–778, title IV, § 404, Sept. 13, 1960, 74 Stat.
970, provided that:
‘‘(a) In the case of any individual who does not meet
the requirements of section 216(i)(3) of the Social Secu-
rity Act [42 U.S.C. 416(i)(3)] with respect to any quarter,
or who is not insured for disability insurance benefits
as determined under section 223(c)(1) of such Act [42
U.S.C. 423(c)(1)] with respect to any month in a quarter,
such individual shall be deemed to have met such re-
quirements with respect to such quarter or to be so in-
sured with respect to such month of such quarter, as
the case may be, if—
‘‘(1) he had a total of not less than twenty quarters
of coverage (as defined in section 213 of such Act [42
U.S.C. 413]) during the period ending with the close of
such quarter, and
‘‘(2) all of the quarters elapsing after 1950 and up to
but excluding such quarter were quarters of coverage
with respect to him and there were not fewer than six
such quarters of coverage.
‘‘(b) Subsection (a) shall apply only in the case of ap-
plications for disability insurance benefits under sec-
tion 223 of the Social Security Act, or for disability de-
terminations under section 216(i) of such Act, filed in or
after the month in which this Act is enacted [Sep-
tember 1960], and then only with respect to an indi-
vidual who, but for such subsection (a), would not meet
the requirements for a period of disability under sec-
tion 216(i) with respect to the quarter in which this Act
is enacted or any prior quarter and would not meet the
requirements for benefits under section 223 with respect
to the month in which this Act is enacted or any prior
month. No benefits under title II of the Social Security
Act [42 U.S.C. 401 et seq.] for the month in which this
Act is enacted or any prior month shall be payable or
increased by reason of the amendment made by such
subsection.’’
§ 417. Benefits for veterans
(a) Determination of benefits
(1) For purposes of determining entitlement to
and the amount of any monthly benefit for any
month after August 1950, or entitlement to and
the amount of any lump-sum death payment in
case of a death after such month, payable under
this subchapter on the basis of the wages and
self-employment income of any World War II
veteran, and for purposes of section 416(i)(3) of
this title, such veteran shall be deemed to have
been paid wages (in addition to the wages, if
any, actually paid to him) of $160 in each month
during any part of which he served in the active
military or naval service of the United States
during World War II. This subsection shall not
be applicable in the case of any monthly benefit
or lump-sum death payment if—
(A) a larger such benefit or payment, as the
case may be, would be payable without its ap-
plication; or
(B) a benefit (other than a benefit payable in
a lump sum unless it is a commutation of, or
a substitute for, periodic payments) which is
based, in whole or in part, upon the active
military or naval service of such veteran dur-
ing World War II is determined by any agency
or wholly owned instrumentality of the United
States (other than the Department of Vet-
erans Affairs) to be payable by it under any
other law of the United States or under a sys-
tem established by such agency or instrumen-
tality.
The provisions of clause (B) of this paragraph
shall not apply in the case of any monthly ben-
Cross-references
Connections may be documented source relationships, shared citations or nearby passages. Each explains its basis; a connection alone does not establish applicability to your situation.
Federal law — U.S. Code and appendices · legal_authorities
**(a) Federal Old-Age and Survivors Insurance Trust Fund** There is hereby created on the books of the Treasury of the United States a trust fund to be known as the “Federal Old-Age and Survivors Insurance Trust Fund”. The Federal Old-Age and Survivors Insurance Trust Fund shall consist of the securities held by the Secretary of the Treasury for the Old-Age Reserve Account and the amount standing to the credit of the Old-Age Reserve Account on the books of the Treasury on January 1, 1940, which securities and amount the Secretary of the Treasury is authorized and directed to transfer to the Federal Old-Age and Survivors Insurance Trust Fund, and, in addition, such gifts and bequests as may be made as provided in subsection (i)(1), and such amounts as may be appropriated to, or deposited in, the Federal Old-Age and Survivors Insurance Trust Fund as hereinafter provided. There is hereby appropriated to the Federal Old-Age and Survivors Insurance Trust Fund for the fiscal year ending June 30, 1941, and for each fiscal year thereafter, out of any moneys in the Treasury not otherwise appropriated, amounts equivalent to 100 per centum of—
(1) the taxes (including interest, penalties, and additions to the taxes) received under subchapter A of chapter 9 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1939 (and covered into the Treasury) which are deposited into the Treasury by collectors of internal revenue before January 1, 1951; and
(2) the taxes certified each month by the Commissioner of Internal Revenue as taxes received under subchapter A of chapter 9 of such Code which are deposited into the Treasury by collectors of internal revenue after December 31, 1950, and before January 1, 1953, with respect to assessments of such taxes made before January 1, 1951; and
(3) the taxes imposed by
Stored review status: release_metadata_unconfirmed. The source passage cites 42 U.S.C. § 401. This identifies an authority to review, not proof of applicability.
Federal law — U.S. Code and appendices · legal_authorities
§ 401. Trust Funds
(a) Federal Old-Age and Survivors Insurance
Trust Fund
There is hereby created on the books of the
Treasury of the United States a trust fund to be
known as the ‘‘Federal Old-Age and Survivors
Insurance Trust Fund’’. The Federal Old-Age
and Survivors Insurance Trust Fund shall con-
sist of the securities held by the Secretary of
the Treasury for the Old-Age Reserve Account
and the amount standing to the credit of the
Old-Age Reserve Account on the books of the
Treasury on January 1, 1940, which securities
and amount the Secretary of the Treasury is au-
thorized and directed to transfer to the Federal
Old-Age and Survivors Insurance Trust Fund,
and, in addition, such gifts and bequests as may
be made as provided in subsection (i)(1), and
such amounts as may be appropriated to, or de-
posited in, the Federal Old-Age and Survivors
Insurance Trust Fund as hereinafter provided.
There is hereby appropriated to the Federal Old-
Age and Survivors Insurance Trust Fund for the
fiscal year ending June 30, 1941, and for each fis-
cal year thereafter, out of any moneys in the
Treasury not otherwise appropriated, amounts
equivalent to 100 per centum of—
(1) the taxes (including interest, penalties,
and additions to the taxes) received under sub-
chapter A of chapter 9 of the Internal Revenue
Code of 1939 (and covered into the Treasury)
which are deposited into the Treasury by col-
lectors of internal revenue before January 1,
1951; and
(2) the taxes certified each month by the
Commissioner of Internal Revenue as taxes re-
ceived under subchapter A of chapter 9 of such
Code which are deposited into the Treasury by
collectors of internal revenue after December
31, 1950, and before January 1, 1953, with re-
spect to assessments of such t
Stored review status: historical_2024_not_currentness_verified. The source passage cites 42 U.S.C. § 401. This identifies an authority to review, not proof of applicability.
Federal law — U.S. Code and appendices · legal_authorities
**(a) Old-age insurance benefits** Every individual who—
(1) is a fully insured individual (as defined in [section 414(a) of this title](https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid:USC-prelim-title42-section414/a&num=0&edition=prelim)),
(2) has attained age 62, and
(3) has filed application for old-age insurance benefits or was entitled to disability insurance benefits for the month preceding the month in which he attained retirement age (as defined in section 416(l) of this title),
shall be entitled to an old-age insurance benefit for each month, beginning with—
(A) in the case of an individual who has attained retirement age (as defined in section 416(l) of this title), the first month in which such individual meets the criteria specified in paragraphs (1), (2), and (3), or
(B) in the case of an individual who has attained age 62, but has not attained retirement age (as defined in section 416(l) of this title), the first month throughout which such individual meets the criteria specified in paragraphs (1) and (2) (if in that month he meets the criterion specified in paragraph (3)),
and ending with the month preceding the month in which he dies. Except as provided in subsection (q) and subsection (w), such individual’s old-age insurance benefit for any month shall be equal to his primary insurance amount (as defined in [section 415(a) of this title](https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid:USC-prelim-title42-section415/a&num=0&edition=prelim)) for such month.
**(b) Wife’s insurance benefits**
(1) The wife (as defined in [section 416(b) of this title](https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid:USC-prelim-title42-section416/b&num=0&edition=prelim)) and every divorced wife (as defined in [section 416(d) of this title](https://uscode.house.gov/
Stored review status: release_metadata_unconfirmed. The source passage cites 42 U.S.C. § 402. This identifies an authority to review, not proof of applicability.
Federal law — U.S. Code and appendices · legal_authorities
§ 402. Old-age and survivors insurance benefit
payments
(a) Old-age insurance benefits
Every individual who—
(1) is a fully insured individual (as defined in
section 414(a) of this title),
(2) has attained age 62, and
(3) has filed application for old-age insurance
benefits or was entitled to disability insurance
benefits for the month preceding the month in
which he attained retirement age (as defined
in section 416(l) of this title),
shall be entitled to an old-age insurance benefit
for each month, beginning with—
(A) in the case of an individual who has at-
tained retirement age (as defined in section
416(l) of this title), the first month in which
such individual meets the criteria specified in
paragraphs (1), (2), and (3), or
(B) in the case of an individual who has at-
tained age 62, but has not attained retirement
age (as defined in section 416(l) of this title),
the first month throughout which such indi-
vidual meets the criteria specified in para-
graphs (1) and (2) (if in that month he meets
the criterion specified in paragraph (3)),
and ending with the month preceding the month
in which he dies. Except as provided in sub-
section (q) and subsection (w), such individual’s
old-age insurance benefit for any month shall be
equal to his primary insurance amount (as de-
fined in section 415(a) of this title) for such
month.
(b) Wife’s insurance benefits
(1) The wife (as defined in section 416(b) of this
title) and every divorced wife (as defined in sec-
tion 416(d) of this title) of an individual entitled
to old-age or disability insurance benefits, if
such wife or such divorced wife—
(A) has filed application for wife’s insurance
benefits,
(B)(i) has attained age 62, or
(ii) in the case of a wife, has in her care (in-
dividually or
Stored review status: historical_2024_not_currentness_verified. The source passage cites 42 U.S.C. § 402. This identifies an authority to review, not proof of applicability.
Federal law — U.S. Code and appendices · legal_authorities
**(a) Maximum benefits**
(1) In the case of an individual whose primary insurance amount has been computed or recomputed under section 415(a)(1) or (4) of this title, or [section 415(d) of this title](https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid:USC-prelim-title42-section415/d&num=0&edition=prelim), as in effect after December 1978, the total monthly benefits to which beneficiaries may be entitled under section 402 or 423 of this title for a month on the basis of the wages and self-employment income of such individual shall, except as provided by paragraphs (3) and (6) (but prior to any increases resulting from the application of paragraph (2)(A)(ii)(III) of [section 415(i) of this title](https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid:USC-prelim-title42-section415/i&num=0&edition=prelim)), be reduced as necessary so as not to exceed—
(A) 150 percent of such individual’s primary insurance amount to the extent that it does not exceed the amount established with respect to this subparagraph by paragraph (2),
(B) 272 percent of such individual’s primary insurance amount to the extent that it exceeds the amount established with respect to subparagraph (A) but does not exceed the amount established with respect to this subparagraph by paragraph (2),
(C) 134 percent of such individual’s primary insurance amount to the extent that it exceeds the amount established with respect to subparagraph (B) but does not exceed the amount established with respect to this subparagraph by paragraph (2), and
(D) 175 percent of such individual’s primary insurance amount to the extent that it exceeds the amount established with respect to subparagraph (C).
Any such amount that is not a multiple of $0.10 shall be decreased to the next lower multiple of $0.10.
(2)
(A) F
Stored review status: release_metadata_unconfirmed. The source passage cites 42 U.S.C. § 403. This identifies an authority to review, not proof of applicability.
Federal law — U.S. Code and appendices · legal_authorities
§ 403. Reduction of insurance benefits
(a) Maximum benefits
(1) In the case of an individual whose primary
insurance amount has been computed or recom-
puted under section 415(a)(1) or (4) of this title,
or section 415(d) of this title, as in effect after
December 1978, the total monthly benefits to
which beneficiaries may be entitled under sec-
tion 402 or 423 of this title for a month on the
basis of the wages and self-employment income
of such individual shall, except as provided by
paragraphs (3) and (6) (but prior to any increases
resulting from the application of paragraph
(2)(A)(ii)(III) of section 415(i) of this title), be re-
duced as necessary so as not to exceed—
(A) 150 percent of such individual’s primary
insurance amount to the extent that it does
not exceed the amount established with re-
spect to this subparagraph by paragraph (2),
(B) 272 percent of such individual’s primary
insurance amount to the extent that it ex-
ceeds the amount established with respect to
subparagraph (A) but does not exceed the
amount established with respect to this sub-
paragraph by paragraph (2),
(C) 134 percent of such individual’s primary
insurance amount to the extent that it ex-
ceeds the amount established with respect to
subparagraph (B) but does not exceed the
amount established with respect to this sub-
paragraph by paragraph (2), and
(D) 175 percent of such individual’s primary
insurance amount to the extent that it ex-
ceeds the amount established with respect to
subparagraph (C).
Any such amount that is not a multiple of $0.10
shall be decreased to the next lower multiple of
$0.10.
(2)(A) For individuals who initially become el-
igible for old-age or disability insurance bene-
fits, or who die (before becoming so eligible for
such benefi
Stored review status: historical_2024_not_currentness_verified. The source passage cites 42 U.S.C. § 403. This identifies an authority to review, not proof of applicability.
Federal law — U.S. Code and appendices · legal_authorities
For the purposes of this subchapter—
**(a) Primary insurance amount**
(1)
(A) The primary insurance amount of an individual shall (except as otherwise provided in this section) be equal to the sum of—
(i) 90 percent of the individual’s average indexed monthly earnings (determined under subsection (b)) to the extent that such earnings do not exceed the amount established for purposes of this clause by subparagraph (B),
(ii) 32 percent of the individual’s average indexed monthly earnings to the extent that such earnings exceed the amount established for purposes of clause (i) but do not exceed the amount established for purposes of this clause by subparagraph (B), and
(iii) 15 percent of the individual’s average indexed monthly earnings to the extent that such earnings exceed the amount established for purposes of clause (ii),
rounded, if not a multiple of $0.10, to the next lower multiple of $0.10, and thereafter increased as provided in subsection (i).
(B)
(i) For individuals who initially become eligible for old-age or disability insurance benefits, or who die (before becoming eligible for such benefits), in the calendar year 1979, the amount established for purposes of clause (i) and (ii) of subparagraph (A) shall be $180 and $1,085, respectively.
(ii) For individuals who initially become eligible for old-age or disability insurance benefits, or who die (before becoming eligible for such benefits), in any calendar year after 1979, each of the amounts so established shall equal the product of the corresponding amount established with respect to the calendar year 1979 under clause (i) of this subparagraph and the quotient obtained by dividing—
(I) the national average wage index (as defined in [section 409(k)(1) of this title]
Stored review status: release_metadata_unconfirmed. The source passage cites 42 U.S.C. § 415. This identifies an authority to review, not proof of applicability.
Federal law — U.S. Code and appendices · legal_authorities
§ 415. Computation of primary insurance amount
For the purposes of this subchapter—
(a) Primary insurance amount
(1)(A) The primary insurance amount of an in-
dividual shall (except as otherwise provided in
this section) be equal to the sum of—
(i) 90 percent of the individual’s average in-
dexed monthly earnings (determined under
subsection (b)) to the extent that such earn-
ings do not exceed the amount established for
purposes of this clause by subparagraph (B),
(ii) 32 percent of the individual’s average in-
dexed monthly earnings to the extent that
such earnings exceed the amount established
for purposes of clause (i) but do not exceed the
amount established for purposes of this clause
by subparagraph (B), and
(iii) 15 percent of the individual’s average in-
dexed monthly earnings to the extent that
such earnings exceed the amount established
for purposes of clause (ii),
rounded, if not a multiple of $0.10, to the next
lower multiple of $0.10, and thereafter increased
as provided in subsection (i).
(B)(i) For individuals who initially become eli-
gible for old-age or disability insurance benefits,
or who die (before becoming eligible for such
benefits), in the calendar year 1979, the amount
established for purposes of clause (i) and (ii) of
Page 1992
TITLE 42—THE PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE
§ 415
subparagraph (A) shall be $180 and $1,085, respec-
tively.
(ii) For individuals who initially become eligi-
ble for old-age or disability insurance benefits,
or who die (before becoming eligible for such
benefits), in any calendar year after 1979, each of
the amounts so established shall equal the prod-
uct of the corresponding amount established
with respect to the calendar year 1979 under
clause (i) of this subparagraph and the quotient
obtaine
Stored review status: historical_2024_not_currentness_verified. The source passage cites 42 U.S.C. § 415. This identifies an authority to review, not proof of applicability.
Federal law — U.S. Code and appendices · legal_authorities
For the purposes of this subchapter—
**(a) Spouse; surviving spouse**
(1) The term “spouse” means a wife as defined in subsection (b) or a husband as defined in subsection (f).
(2) The term “surviving spouse” means a widow as defined in subsection (c) or a widower as defined in subsection (g).
**(b) Wife** The term “wife” means the wife of an individual, but only if she (1) is the mother of his son or daughter, (2) was married to him for a period of not less than one year immediately preceding the day on which her application is filed, or (3) in the month prior to the month of her marriage to him (A) was entitled to, or on application therefor and attainment of age 62 in such prior month would have been entitled to, benefits under subsection (b), (e), or (h) of [section 402 of this title](https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid:USC-prelim-title42-section402&num=0&edition=prelim), (B) had attained age eighteen and was entitled to, or on application therefor would have been entitled to, benefits under subsection (d) of such section (subject, however, to [section 402(s) of this title](https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid:USC-prelim-title42-section402/s&num=0&edition=prelim)), or (C) was entitled to, or upon application therefor and attainment of the required age (if any) would have been entitled to, a widow’s, child’s (after attainment of age 18), or parent’s insurance annuity under [section 231a of title 45](https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid:USC-prelim-title45-section231a&num=0&edition=prelim). For purposes of clause (2), a wife shall be deemed to have been married to an individual for a period of one year throughout the month in which occurs the first anniversary of her marriage to such individual. For purposes of subparagraph (